The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL for cpanel/WHM login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by s3kk3y, Nov 23, 2002.

  1. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the cert working fine, but it does not work for cpanel and whm logins. The cert domain and my hostname are the same.

    I read through the forums and it seems all the problems related to this go unanswered. Does anyone know how to login using SSL and NOT getting the popup message?

    Thanks.
     
  2. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same here. SSL stopped working for CPANEL AND WHM after an upgrade of WHM a few months ago.
     
  3. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    [quote:25e2b87233][i:25e2b87233]Originally posted by s3kk3y[/i:25e2b87233]

    I have the cert working fine, but it does not work for cpanel and whm logins. The cert domain and my hostname are the same.

    I read through the forums and it seems all the problems related to this go unanswered. Does anyone know how to login using SSL and NOT getting the popup message?

    Thanks.[/quote:25e2b87233]

    Hi, i posted about this problem too.

    I upgraded to the latest cpanel release R56 and I don't get a warning anymore, so that has been fixed.

    However now I see a &client authentication& window when I connect to
    https://domain.com:2087

    &The Web site you want to view requests identification.
    Select the certificate to use when connecting.&

    Tested on IE6.0 and IE5.5

    I really have no clue why cpanel support isn't active around here. Why not post answers to common problems or howto's here ?

    I have never seen a support forum where so many questions don't even get a reply.
     
  4. plaut

    plaut Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Having the same problem. Someone please HELP!!!

    Thanks
     
  5. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, one way i can get clients to login securely without the auth popup is if i make them use the server address. But if i do that, then all file manager bandwidth activity does not get logged for their account.

    I am pretty sure there is no way to do this. And the cpanel team knows it and thats why they dont reply to these posts.
     
  6. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    [quote:305ac37e2b][i:305ac37e2b]Originally posted by s3kk3y[/i:305ac37e2b]
    I am pretty sure there is no way to do this. And the cpanel team knows it and thats why they dont reply to these posts.[/quote:305ac37e2b]

    Well, I wasn't getting the authentication window until S66 I think, so something has been changed.
     
  7. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have been trying to get since i got cpanel, which was during the early 5.2.x build.

    How are your clients getting into cpanel now? Non-secure or using the host domain?
     
  8. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    [quote:eaf7b5643f][i:eaf7b5643f]Originally posted by jamesbond[/i:eaf7b5643f]

    [quote:eaf7b5643f][i:eaf7b5643f]Originally posted by s3kk3y[/i:eaf7b5643f]

    I have the cert working fine, but it does not work for cpanel and whm logins. The cert domain and my hostname are the same.

    I read through the forums and it seems all the problems related to this go unanswered. Does anyone know how to login using SSL and NOT getting the popup message?

    Thanks.[/quote:eaf7b5643f]

    Hi, i posted about this problem too.

    I upgraded to the latest cpanel release R56 and I don't get a warning anymore, so that has been fixed.

    However now I see a &client authentication& window when I connect to
    https://domain.com:2087

    &The Web site you want to view requests identification.
    Select the certificate to use when connecting.&

    Tested on IE6.0 and IE5.5

    I really have no clue why cpanel support isn't active around here. Why not post answers to common problems or howto's here ?

    I have never seen a support forum where so many questions don't even get a reply.
    [/quote:eaf7b5643f]

    Have the same problem, blank windows with nothing to select. This is really annoying and im running E93 and still not fixed.
     
  9. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Am i the only one sending in support tickets on issues? People keep asking the same questions about things but nobody from tech support, if it even exists, ever helps out with any kind of resolution to people problems. Support in these forms really suck and everyone tries to help out but nobody is ever really sure about new issues, commands and features. If Cpanel is to survive then the makers of Cpanel better get some proper help around here. I cant believe this. This, besides the problem with things that should be working such as SSL and the very basic of what we expect from a control panel, should not be an issue so late in the game. WHERE ARE THE REAL TECHS?
     
  10. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    [quote:03dc856551][i:03dc856551]Originally posted by jamesbond[/i:03dc856551]

    [quote:03dc856551][i:03dc856551]Originally posted by s3kk3y[/i:03dc856551]

    I have the cert working fine, but it does not work for cpanel and whm logins. The cert domain and my hostname are the same.

    I read through the forums and it seems all the problems related to this go unanswered. Does anyone know how to login using SSL and NOT getting the popup message?

    Thanks.[/quote:03dc856551]

    Hi, i posted about this problem too.

    I upgraded to the latest cpanel release R56 and I don't get a warning anymore, so that has been fixed.

    However now I see a &client authentication& window when I connect to
    https://domain.com:2087

    &The Web site you want to view requests identification.
    Select the certificate to use when connecting.&

    Tested on IE6.0 and IE5.5

    I really have no clue why cpanel support isn't active around here. Why not post answers to common problems or howto's here ?

    I have never seen a support forum where so many questions don't even get a reply.
    [/quote:03dc856551]

    Ok so i got this email back from Darren at Cpanel:

    Hello,

    I checked with Nick, the head cpanel developer about this as I've seen a couple other tickets in the system about the same thing. The cause of the empty box is the intermeddiate certificate, currently it's a bug in the way stunnel handles certificate authority chains and the only thing you can do is finalise the cert or click &ok& and move on.

    Thanks,
    Darren
    --

    Hmm, so can we go back a stunnel version to correct the problem i wonder?
     
  11. hormigo

    hormigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e3da88622a][i:e3da88622a]Originally posted by ozzi4648[/i:e3da88622a]

    [quote:e3da88622a][i:e3da88622a]Originally posted by jamesbond[/i:e3da88622a]

    [quote:e3da88622a][i:e3da88622a]Originally posted by s3kk3y[/i:e3da88622a]

    I have the cert working fine, but it does not work for cpanel and whm logins. The cert domain and my hostname are the same.

    I read through the forums and it seems all the problems related to this go unanswered. Does anyone know how to login using SSL and NOT getting the popup message?

    Thanks.[/quote:e3da88622a]

    Hi, i posted about this problem too.

    I upgraded to the latest cpanel release R56 and I don't get a warning anymore, so that has been fixed.

    However now I see a &client authentication& window when I connect to
    https://domain.com:2087

    &The Web site you want to view requests identification.
    Select the certificate to use when connecting.&

    Tested on IE6.0 and IE5.5

    I really have no clue why cpanel support isn't active around here. Why not post answers to common problems or howto's here ?

    I have never seen a support forum where so many questions don't even get a reply.
    [/quote:e3da88622a]

    Have the same problem, blank windows with nothing to select. This is really annoying and im running E93 and still not fixed.[/quote:e3da88622a]

    same problem. i am running S101 and still not fixed
     
  12. Keegan

    Keegan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This needs correction or clarification.
     
  13. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    6.0.0 BETA 61 has a patched version of stunnel which should correct the problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page