The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL for secure.mydomain.com

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by netlook, Apr 9, 2004.

  1. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, I've read lot of your posts here about ssl, but till now I can't get how to create something like this to start working:

    MY DOMAIN: mydomain.com
    I want to create shared ssl for my client, eg:

    https://secure.mydomain.com/~user-login/

    I've created an ssl cert for secure.mydomain.com but it doesn't work - it works for...... mydomain.com/~user-login

    I havnót created a subdomain "secure", have I?

    Why when the cert it is for secure.mydomain.com
    it works on https://mydomain.com/~user-login and doesn't work on https://secure.mydomain.com/~user-login???
     
  2. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I believe you have to create the subdomain secure.mydomain.com then create the cert for it. You then put your login form in that secure directory so you can call it with https://secure.mydomain.com/login.form. If you have got as far as creating a ssl cert then you know the full process involved.
    Good luck with it and post again if you need more help with the ssl cert.
     
  3. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    or buy a cert that supports wildcards like on free ssl.com there is one that supports any level of subdomain.
     
  4. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CAcert.org

    ...or get an absolutely free cert from CAcert Inc :)
    Donate if you wish. ;)
     
  5. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    lol.

    Yes you could do that if you:

    A. wanted a warning everytime you accessed SSL
    b. Felt like telling 99% of your users that they have to use a browser other than the one they use now to get the thing to work.

    Might be good for site development though!
     
  6. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats a bit like every client has to do accessing cPanel and WHM in secure mode when the certs owned by the server.

    In CAcerts case just install the root cert in your browser. Also put a link on your site so visitors can go and get the root cert. It really only takes a moment or two to install it. Very very easy even for me. :)

    Quote from their web site:
    "If you are looking to have your web browser trust our certificates, please install our root certificate."

    One of the reasons you pay big $ for a cert is the up front fee charged by browser authors to include a Certificate Signing Authorities (CSA) root certificate in their browser. No names mentioned ;)

    So if you are into doing things manually then you can save a yourself a few bucks.
     
  7. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, this is my solution :)

    I've made a certificate for secure.mydomain.com, then created a domain secure.mydomain.com on self IP. I've instaled the certificate and now everything seems to be ok.

    Of course I had to wait around 1-2 h to make the thing working in DNSes.
     
  8. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ... and another thing - I had to pay only for one cert (almost $ 40, not for wildchart which is some around $400)
     
  9. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Netlook, that seems like a pretty good outcome for you. It really is nice when all things come together. :) Good luck!
     
Loading...

Share This Page