The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL goes to the wrong place

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wimp, Nov 22, 2003.

  1. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hello all,
    her is the situation:
    a reseller installed an SSL on his subdomain (https://sub.mydomain.com) . However, there was already hosted a domain with SSL on this IP since the IP is the default IP for resellers and now all requests for https://sub.mydomain.com was going to another domain.
    So I told them to setup the account: https://sub.mydomain.com withing the WHM with an unique IP
    But now the main account https://mydomain.com is protected but https://sub.mydomain.com is not.

    What's worng? is there any way to fix the problem?
    And is there a way to tel the SSL vendor the new IP to fix the problem? SSL certificate was bought from Comodo

    Thanks
     
  2. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Check to make sure cPanel updated the SSL entry for the domain in httpd.conf. It may have left the old IP on the entry for port 443. I've seen this in the past (though I thought it was fixed).
     
  3. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    jsteel--- thanks for suggestion...i have just checked this but the IP seems fine...
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    sub.mydomain.com must not only use it's own IP address, it must also have it's own account. You can create one in WHM using: sub.mydomain.com and assign it, it's own IP address.

    Doesn't make much sense though. Why wouldn't they just use 'domain.com' for SSL since it's already setup?
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Not true, at least not on my servers. I have 2 accounts using secure.domain.com and in both cases the subdomain is a cpanel creation.
     
  6. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Website Rob-- not sure I understand ..
    but the customer has his main account (created in WHM) mainaccount.com and the created another account
    secur.mainaccount.com (also withing the cPanel) with a static IP. This should be work..is this correct?
    However he has setup the SSL certificate with the wrong IP addresses... (as i told above)
    If they ask the SSL vendor to change the IP for secur.mainaccount.com it should be ok.
    But can my reseller ask to change the IP address or are there some tecnical problems for the SSL seller?

    thanks
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    squirrel, seems to be more knowledgable than I, in this area. So I will bow to his knowledge and let him reply. ;)
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Maybe we're both right. It is 2 different servers. ;)


    Anyway, I use Comodo and I know that they do allow requests for replacement certificates, so I would suggest they generate a new (proper) CSR then go to their Comodo account and just get a replacement.

    If the main site has a dedicated IP, the subdomain doesn't need it's own and can be created in cpanel. If the main site is on a shared IP, they should create the subdomain in WHM instead with a dedicated one.
     
  9. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    squirrel--- ok i will suggest this to our reseller.

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page