Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED SSL indicator not displaying properly

Discussion in 'Security' started by xtianfab, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. xtianfab

    xtianfab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paraguay
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, the ssl apparently does not work. IN the browser bar does not indicate the address in green as it should.

    Only when accessing the midomino / wp-admin indicates the green bar.

    Could you help me?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The SSL IS working, the problem is with your site displaying mixed content meaning you are trying to serve content to the viewer using 'http' instead of 'https'.

    Is it a wordpress site? easy fix is to install this plugin

    Really Simple SSL

    otherwise, you will want to search/replace your sites code and/or database and replace http with https

    make sure to backup before you do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Also, to see the actual mixed content, open up the developer console in chrome and go to the console tab, you will see it say something like

    Mixed Content: The page at 'https://example.com/test.html' was loaded over HTTPS, but requested an insecure image 'http://example.com/assets/images/image.png'. This content should also be served over HTTPS.

    Once you fix all the mixed content, you will then see that pretty green bar.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelLauren likes this.
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The issue is exactly as @Jcats has described. Loading the resources over https will resolve the issue and there's lots of information on the web about how to resolve this. There are some other threads on the forums about this as well for example:
    SOLVED - HTTP/HTTPS redirect problem with Apache
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. xtianfab

    xtianfab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paraguay
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, I downloaded the plugin and it works correctly.

    Should these cerfificates work for subdomains?

    I have a single subdomain and the bar does not appear in green

    Regards
     
  6. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    These certificates referring to AutoSSL certs? If so, yes.

    You can easily check which domains/subdomains contain a valid SSL by going to WHM > Manage SSL Hosts

    When you say no green bar, is it because the site isn't redirecting to https? or mixed content again?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. xtianfab

    xtianfab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paraguay
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now it works, I found the mixed content and when correcting these already appears in the subdomains the green bar.

    Thank you very much.
     
  8. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Awesome, glad to hear it! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice