The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL Install User does not exist!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by westhost-neil, Dec 4, 2006.

  1. westhost-neil

    westhost-neil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    I'm trying to install an SSL on one of my accounts. I've done this loads of times and have never had any problems. This particular user already has an SSL installed and all I'm trying to do is renew the SSL.

    This is what I do:

    Click Install a SSL Certificate
    Enter the domain in the domain field (ie. www.domain.com)
    The user, IP address and RSA fields are automatically filled in (I've double checked and the details are correct)
    I paste the CRT and ca bundle in the appropriate boxes.
    Click Submit and I receive: You must specify a valid username: user does not exist!

    This account is active, the site works perfectly ok with the current SSL installed. I've tried changing the username but I still get the same error. I've renewed SSL's before so I know how this should work.

    Any advice?

    Neil Westlake
     
  2. Mindlash

    Mindlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I too seem to be getting that error.

    When I type in the domain name, the IP address and username are the only fields that are filled out. 'fetching' either the CRT or KEY return nothing. This domain already has an SSL installed but will be expiring shortly.

    Manually pasting in the CRT yields the same error as reported above.

    What gives?
     
  3. Mindlash

    Mindlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not sure if this will help YOU or not westhost-neil, but you can run:

    /scripts/installssl

    and give it all the information it asks

    after that ran, I restarted HTTP, and all was good (I had also some issue with SSL not getting initialized the first time).

    I did the following:

    service httpd stop
    service xinetd stop
    service cpanel stop
    killall -9 httpd
    service xinetd start
    service cpanel start
    service httpd start

    all was good, but still need to know why this user does not exist error pops up.

    Anyone else?
     
  4. wisenerl

    wisenerl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get that too, question though. using /scripts/installssl once you paste the cert in how do you move to the next stage? I cant return or quit...
     
  5. Mindlash

    Mindlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here's the process (with comments in red)


    From the prompt:

    root@server [/]# /scripts/installssl (Press Enter)
    What domain is the cert for (the one on the certif)? www.yourdomain.com (Press Enter)
    What user is the ssl host for? usernamehere (Press Enter)
    What ip is the ssl host for? x.x.x.x (Press Enter)
    [SSL {domain:www.yourdomain.com} {user:usernamehere} {ip:x.x.x.x}]
    Paste in your ssl cert (Have on your clipboard everything from the ----- BEGIN CERTIFICATE ----- to the end of ----- END CERTIFICATE ----- and hit paste)
    HTML:
    -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
    MIIDUzCCArygAwIBAgIDBQ2vMA0GSIb3DQEBBAUAMFoxCzAJBgNVBAYTAlVT
    MRwwGgYDVQQKExNFcXVpZmF4IFNlZSBJbmMuMS0wKwYDVQQDEyRFcXVpZmF4
    IFNlY3VyZSBHbG9iYWwgZUJ1c2luZXNBLTEwHhcNMDYxMjA0MTg0MjI1WhcN
    MDgwMjAzMTg0MjI1WjCBwjELMAkGAhMCVVMxHDAaBgNVBAoTE3d3dy5idXR0
    ZWh1bWFuZS5vcmcxEzARBgNVBAsTCkdUMDkxMzY4MTYxMgNVBAsTKFNlZSB3
    d3cuZ2VvdHJ1c3QuY29tL3Jlc291cm9jcHMgKGMpMDUxLzAtBgNVBAsTJkRv
    bWFpbiBDb250cm9sIFZhbGlkYXRlZFF1aWNrU1NMKFIpMRwwGgYDVQQDExN3
    d3cuYnV0dGVodW1hbmUub3JnMIGGCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUAA4GNADCBiQKBgQC9
    Aqzy1EZmFg+Jk+pBne1EzUfjONjP4alCG8ZRcoxfpLe2ZpjzL9Z3xqBODEjF
    4vRIrCzx3wpAbAGEKtedYTahGm1dyrfrpwNj9w6UhPINucI/V8wXhSGPGAVq
    gdQslDl7GtBFwPJ+w5poAnJrKGJuWdXt4ZRiGwIDAQABo4G9MIG6MA4GA1Ud
    DwEB/wQEAwIE8DAdBgNVHQ4EFgQbdzIDiIhCuwEks4iT8S5NKi8wOwYDVR0f
    BDQwMjAwoC6gLIYqaHR0cDovL2NnZW90cnVzdC5jb20vY3Jscy9nbG9iYWxj
    YTEuY3JsMB8GA1UdIwQYMBaAFL6yUGtEt8kj2Puo/7NXa2hsMB0GA1UdJQQW
    MBQGCCsGAQUFBwMBBggrBgEFBQAMBgNVHRMBAf8EAjAAMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEB
    BAUAA4GBAImxWd1+tNJibvmnsrPbhyCZPbrJZFUQzpLoJZbgzQjyW3rbStqH
    Q//DRr6/YDSJ0y9Pi4xFutYmMZp2X7py1ebzCzCy1RF9nRPWWyuJf3P9crXO
    cPHSAF+687mqRqzE15lmLZlCtn/Aq0u8TzJuMONX+5H7xg9E
    -----END CERTIFICATE-----
    (Press Enter if it's just sitting there)
    Certif installed
    HTTPD.CONF editted


    That should do it.
     
  6. wisenerl

    wisenerl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks will try that, it did just sit there after pasting in the cert even after pressing return
     
  7. wisenerl

    wisenerl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Weird, it wont work for me at all, it just sits there afterpasting in the cert and does nothing
     
  8. westhost-neil

    westhost-neil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Mindlash,

    Thanks for the info, it seems to have worked perfectly.

    Followed your instructions, restarted Apache and the SSL was updated.

    Thanks again.
     
  9. wisenerl

    wisenerl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just a final note on this.

    The problem that started this thread was a bug in the latest release but it has now been fixed with the latest release.
     
  10. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    This is still a problem with my cPanel version 10.9.0 C82

    I did what was suggested ( the manual process with /scripts/installssl ), after restarting Apache it showed all fine in the WHM, but the https://www.domain.com went straigt to the main domain name and not the addon domain where the ssl is installed!

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page