The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL/Install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stevejac, Jun 17, 2005.

  1. stevejac

    stevejac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just got my wildcard cert. And was trying to install in, in WHM. I found a post (mini install) on how to do this, The only proble I am having, is when I created the request, I did not have an option for a user. But to do the install it asks for a user and will not complete the install without a user. And ideas would be great.
    Thanks
    SJ :(
     
  2. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    when you generated the CSR and ordered the certificate you would have had to supply a domain name. The User is the account username for the domain that you specify when you set up the domain in WHM.
     
  3. stevejac

    stevejac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    SSL/ Install

    Ron,
    It is a wildcard cert. so the domain is *.c2chosting.net, is that also going to be the user?
    Thanks
    SJ :eek:
     
  4. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    I think user should be the username for the domain c2chosting.net

    -----
    Aby :)
     
  5. stevejac

    stevejac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Aby

    I tried that and got this error
    an error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]
    Any ideas
    Thanks
    SJ :eek:
     
  6. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Did you assign dedicated IP's to the subdomains also ?

    ------
    Aby :)
     
  7. stevejac

    stevejac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Aby

    I do not have a subdomain yet, I got the wildcard to cover what ever I make as a subdomain then I do make one. Now should I be doing this under WHM or under the account c2chosting.net ?
    SJ :eek:
     
  8. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    I think it should be under c2chosting.net. Also please verify the domain does have a dedicated IP and that is not use by any other domains. Please double check httpd.conf to confirm it.

    ---
    Aby :)
     
  9. stevejac

    stevejac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Aby,

    Well I have 3 different domains using the same ip, I would guess I need to setup my server different. I would guess I need to have only c2chosting with a public ip and every domain should be setup as an addon domain under my account c2chosting.net.
    Does this seem correct ?
    I set every domain up with the same public ip address.
    This must be my problem? :eek:
    SJ
     
  10. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    That is an issue though i am not sure it is the only issue in the installation of the certificate. The domain on which the certificate to be installed should have a dedicated IP. Though other domains are to be set up as an addon domain, it should have a dedicated IP for the wildcard cert to work. You may get the help from the certificate issuing authority. They will be able to help you more than anyone. I think now you need to RE-Key your certificate after assigning the dedicated IP and you should try installation with the re-issued certificate.

    ----
    Aby :)
     
  11. stevejac

    stevejac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Aby,

    Thanks for your help, I did some looking around, and found what I was doing wrong. It was not and IP address problem, but when I was setting up the cert in WHM I was using *.c2chosting.net, for the domain, I needed to put the subdomain name in under the domain option. Once I did this it pulled the ip for me as well as the user. All I had to do was add the last key.
    Thanks
    Again
    SJ :eek:
     
  12. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Glad to know that it is working for you now. But still I believe the wild card certificates need separate IP for all the subdomains
    --
    Aby :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page