The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL Installation Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rlpittman, Aug 16, 2002.

  1. rlpittman

    rlpittman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just an FYI -

    I just installed a security certificate using WHM and tried to run that site. Because of the scripting, the new VirtualHost directives add in the lines:

    User username
    Group username

    but the virtualhost directive for the SSL (port 443) does not. The scripts could not access certain files until I added those lines.

    Something that needs to be added?
     
  2. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    refer to ITF's post:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4004&page=2
     
  3. rlpittman

    rlpittman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mike,

    Thanks for the post, but it's not a shared SSL we're speaking of. And really, it's got something more to do with the fact that since I upgraded the apache (I think that's when it started), when I added a new customer, the httpd.conf file was modified, specifically adding two lines:

    User username
    Group username

    That wreaked a little bit of havoc with my site, as I had set permissions for a program that many of my sites use to 4755 (suexec?) and, with that change, that program ceased to work.

    I have since rectified the issue by changing that program back to 755 in their cgi-bin, because those two lines allowed that to happen.

    Then I added an SSL cert to my site. Well, I also run that same program, and it was unable to access certain files. I found then that the two lines mentioned above were not included in the port 443 configuration block.

    So my thought is: If you (and by you, I mean cpanel/whm) add those two lines in the regular virtualhost IP block, why wouldn't it be added to the virtualhost IP:443 block? I had to add it to get my programs to run.

    Ray
     
  4. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    rlpittman, you are right, it seems that this is a Cpanel bug.

    but with which build you had this problem?
     
  5. rlpittman

    rlpittman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 4.9.0
    Cpanel 4.9.0-60
    Redhat 6.2
    Apache/1.3.26 (Unix)

    Should I post this to the &bug list&?

    Ray
     
Loading...

Share This Page