The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL installed but no padlock on IE

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fishfreek, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just installed a SSL for a client on one of our servers. The server is running WHM/Cpanel 9.3.0-C55 and apache 1.3.31.

    I went to the Install an SSL Cert and setup a domain like usual and pasted the SSL into the box and pasted the Key into the approprate box.

    The message after clicking the DO IT button said that the SSL was installed correctly and apache restarted fine. When I visit https://domain.com I see the website in question but the yellow padlock is not displayed in IE.

    This is the first SSL I have tried to install since upgrading WHM to version C55. Other SSL sites on that server still produce the yellow padlock.
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
  3. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    What is the correct one? With or without the www?
     
  5. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The cert shows it without in WHM.
     
  6. alex042

    alex042 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do you have any other certs that work without a www or subdomain?
     
  7. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes.
     
  8. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Interesting enough. if i double click on the little box where the padlock should appear the cert window pops up showing all the relevent info.
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    So you say WHM shows it without the www, but when you do the above, what does it show? If it shows it with the www then you need to delete the cert and install it again.
     
  10. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok maybe im not CLEAR.

    The cert shows its for https://domain.com

    If you visit https://domain.com you see no padlock and get no popup about the cert. If you double click in IE the little box where the yellow padlock would appear you get a box giving you the standard cert info as if the yellow lock was there.

    If you visit https://www.domain.com you get a cert popup and it gives you a warning that the domain does not match the domain on the cert. This is fine as I dont care if they are accessing the secure ssl via a www. or not.
     
  11. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Okay. I was just wanting to confirm that IE was looking for the correct cert and that WHM had set up the right one. You could still try removing it and re-adding it, though. Does the cert work properly with other browsers?
     
  12. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  13. Noldar

    Noldar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ponchatoula, LA
    My guess would be this line in your html is causing the problem.

    <base href="http://aznfilms.com/">

    I believe this is causing all of your images to be displayed as unsecure, so you will not get the lock in IE.

    Richard
     
  14. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok. Its not my site but Ill make that suggestion to the webmaster.
     
  15. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Noldar is correct

    the reason no padlock is displayed is because you have insecure images/links in your html

    if an image is being pulled from a non ssl directory no pad lock will be displayed in IE..

    if you use <img src="/images/blah.jpg">

    you should include a

    <base href="https://www.domain.com">

    or if you use <img src="http://www.domain.com/images/blah.jpg"> you would need to change it to read https

    Hope this helps!
     
  16. GrimReaper

    GrimReaper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks guys, this post helped me to, most apprechiated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page