The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL: Installed Certificates for the domain(s): Unable to determine host for certifica

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tagor, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I ordered a SSL cert. online. When I enter the SSL cert. I get this error:

    Installed Certificates for the domain(s): Unable to determine host for certificate!

    How can I solve this? Thank you in advance!
     
  2. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For some strange reason now it is working. However I can't access the page at https://domain.com.
     
  3. ServerGuru

    ServerGuru Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What error you are getting ?

    Try to restart apache with SSL

    service httpd startssl

    and
    Restart cpanel services.

    service cpanel restart

    Hope this help you
     
  4. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I get the "The page cannot be displayed" error in IE.

    Restarting those services didn't work :(.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  5. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nobody? :(
     
  6. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Really nobody?
     
  7. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    depends on where you installed your SSL
    if you installed it on https://www.domain.com then it'll only work on that
    and if you installed it on https://domain.com then it'll only work on that one.
    If you installed a wildcard certificate it should work on both and subdomains as well, but wildcard certificates cost 10 times more then normal SSL
     
  8. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  9. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    when you go into WHM and look at the domains IP address do you see the 443 after the IP ?
    like 69.111.69.111:443 ?
    If thats the case you have installed SSL and if you can NOT see the 443 after the IP you havent installed SSL on that dedicated IP
     
  10. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have listed all accounts. It doesn't show that port after the ip address.

    I installed the SSL cert. using cPanel. It said all has been succesfully installed. Does it really need a dedicated ip address to install a SSL cert.?
     
  11. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    hehe, yea u need a dedicated IP :p
    what actually did u do , when u say u installed a SSL ?
     
  12. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just put the code in the input box in cPanel to install a cert. Also I added the domain.

    Why do you need a dedicated ip? Since you enter the domain, not the ip address.
     
  13. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
  14. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do I also need to create new nameservers for that domain?
    Or does this work too?:

    NS1. ip1
    NS2. ip2

    Domein hosted on NS1 and NS2 but using a dedicated ip address.
     
  15. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
  16. Tagor

    Tagor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks this worked :)

    Have a nice day!
     
    #16 Tagor, Mar 4, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  17. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Great to hear :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page