The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL Manger in cPanel??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Devil Inside, Jun 5, 2004.

  1. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. netwrkr

    netwrkr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Yeah, it hasn't worked since they added it. Just opened a ticket.

    TP
     
  3. netwrkr

    netwrkr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is what I did to (I think) fix it:

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x2
    ln -s ../x/ssl/ ssl
    chown root.wheel ssl
     
  4. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WT?????


    How does this thing protect against newbies uploading and trying to install certs on the shared IP address and crashing APache.

    This is NOT a feature I want included in every Cpanel.
     
  5. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can disable it in the feature manager. This is what we did for all our namebased servers.
     
  6. stuartbaggs

    stuartbaggs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    did what netwrkr sugested and now all works OK. It semas that users can only generate the signing requets they cannot instakll them themselves.

    Or maybe that option is disable on a shared IP?

    Stuart
     
  7. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not seeing a way to remove it from cPanel altogether.

    I don't want that link there - it will only make people ask questions about it's usage if it doesn't work. And I don't even want it working. SSL is not something I want user doable.
     
  8. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Devil Inside, Per the above go to the feature manager and then select to edit the defalt listing of features. At the bottom just uncheck the SSL part and it will be removed from the cpanel listings.
     
  9. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry - my bad.

    I was looking in the wrong area. Though I don't have a default list - but it looks as though I can just add one named 'default'

    Thanks!
     
  10. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That is not an answer it means resellers can still turn it on and off I do not want it at all server wide.

    One of the worst idea's cpanel has ever had.

    NICK gives us someway to remove that feature server wide.

    I have seen too many apache crashes from people not knowing what they are doing and installing the wrong certs etc.
     
  11. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turn it off in tweaks and turn it off for each reseller then they cant manage it! Turn if off in Feature List to remove it from everyone elses menus.

    Its as dumb a feature as the MAIN default login. We dont want to have the main screen with all the icons showing for our reseller but rather our NEWS. Why did they force this on us or at least give us a option to specify what the default screen is.
     
  12. checksoft

    checksoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Question...can a shared IP have ONE cert or not? I just installed a StarterCert and tried reinstalling, but the secure address does not work at all. Firefox gives only an alert that the connection was terminated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page