The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL not working.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Go3team, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I purchased a SSL cert. from Godaddy, and its not working. First I generated the key under the Cpanel for the site. Put that information into godaddy and got the files I needed back. Then I went into WHM/SSL and installed the certificate by following the directions Godaddy provided for WHM/Cpanel. No errors were generated during the install, but https does not work. I checked the httpd.conf file to make sure the info was in their, it is. I checked the file directories that the httpd.conf said they were, and they are there. I am at loss, and I hope my rambling is understood. Thanks.
     
  2. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Check to see if it works on the following port

    http://www.domain.com:443

    notice http not https. If it works like that, then there is something amuck with the server config.

    -Sheldon
     
  3. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    With Opera, I get: Port disabled for security reasons. With IE, i just get a standard Cannot find server error.
     
  4. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Because Goddady certificates use a chained root certificate the CA bundle does not always get installed correctly, especially if it is the first time one has been installed on the server.

    Install the certificate again using the same process, it will just overwrite the existing entries and install the files again. This normally fixes the problem.
     
  5. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Would I have to delete it first, or should I overwrite?
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    just overwrite
     
  7. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did it twice, no dice. Deleted, installed, installed again. Still nothing.
     
  8. oulzac

    oulzac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you make sure to install it on a dedicated IP and not the main shared IP for the server?
     
  9. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    At first I made the mistake of putting the account on the shared ip, and registered it then. I installed it, and it didn't work. Finally I read somewhere that it needs to have its own ip, then I changed the ip, deleted the install of the previous ssl cert, and installed again. Then last night tried installing a few more times. Would registering it on the shared ip do that? Or do I need to register it on its current one.
     
  10. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    it may be a propagation issue as you changed the IP

    what does https://<ip> do?
     
  11. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nothing. Same as before.
     
  12. Go3team

    Go3team Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I may have found some things that might explain why, but I don't understand it, maybe someone can translate. I found this in my daily logwatch email from the server:


    Cp-Wrap[30481]: CP-Wrapper v1.2 resuming normal operations
    Cp-Wrap[30481]: Pushing "32012 LIST underretail.net key" to
    '/usr/local/cpanel/bin/ssladmin' for UID: 32012
    Cp-Wrap[30481]: CP-Wrapper terminated without error

    Cp-Wrap[30463]: CP-Wrapper v1.2 resuming normal operations
    Cp-Wrap[30463]: Pushing "32012 LIST underretail.net crt" to
    '/usr/local/cpanel/bin/ssladmin' for UID: 32012
    Cp-Wrap[30463]: CP-Wrapper terminated without error

    Cp-Wrap[29962]: CP-Wrapper v1.2 resuming normal operations
    Cp-Wrap[29962]: Pushing "32012 LIST underretail.net csr" to
    '/usr/local/cpanel/bin/ssladmin' for UID: 32012
    Cp-Wrap[29962]: CP-Wrapper terminated without error
     
  13. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    nope thats whm working those errors are normal
     
  14. maki

    maki Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    ny
    help..

    Can you please tell us where exactly is the prob if http://domain.com:443 works fine? This is actually what I am encountering. Both https://domain.com and https://IP-address show Page Cannot Be displayed though.

    thanks in advance.



     
    #14 maki, Sep 18, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page