The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL reporting wrong domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bigj, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    I have one customer with a working SSL cert and another who is trying to install a new cert. Here is the problem. When the existing SSL customer looks at his installed certs it reports a completely different domain than the one he owns (i.e. someone else on the server who doesn't have a cert).

    The other customer is trying to install a cert and when he goes to install his new cert it tells shows a cert already installed and it's reporting another domain that the customer is not in control of. Basically the same problem as the other customer.

    Strangest damn issue. I will admit that the problem cropped sometime ago after I was editing the httpd.conf file. There is nothing syntatically wrong with the config file otherwise apache would have barfed.

    Anyone seen an issue like this?

    bigj
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Each site has to have it's own dedicated IP for an SSL to work properly.
     
  3. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    Though I didn't mention that the sites were configured each with their own IP, they are. So that isn't the problem.

    bigj
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Sounds like it may be a problem in the httpd.conf file. Run
    /usr/sbin/httpd configtest
    in shell and see if it says anything.
     
  5. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    I have run configtest by hand and it doesn't spit anything out. It's very peculiar. I'd like to know how cpanel determines what certs are installed when a user clicks on their 'ssl installer' icon cause this is where it's showing the wrong domain.

    I just setup a new host today (non SSL) and one of their subdomains is showing up this other SSL customer's 'ssl installer' screen.

    I'll open a trouble ticket and see what they have to say. Thanks.

    bigj
     
  6. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    SSL Installer Problem

    Check and see if the client installed an ssl certificate on one of their addon domains.
     
  7. payne

    payne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    I had this happen on mine, too. I think they must record the line number in the httpd.conf or something. If you manually edit the httpd.conf (e.g. move the virtualhost block), it seems to throw things off.
     
  8. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    Oh man that sucks badly if that is the case. I opened up a trouble ticket and have been working with someone so hopefully it will be resolved soon.

    What did you do to fix it out of curiosity?

    bigj
     
Loading...

Share This Page