The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL - Serious Issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mark1hos, Jan 14, 2005.

  1. mark1hos

    mark1hos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    On one of our servers SSL Certificates which are installed on domains stop working. A few times a day for the last 3 weeks.

    The only way to get the SSL certificate working again is to either re-install it via WHM or run:

    service httpd stop and then

    service httpd startssl.

    Anyone know why this is happening? This is now a continuous issue and is resulting in clients leaving because of it.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. mark1hos

    mark1hos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Anyone?

    Looking at the SSL log, when it stops working the following appears:

    [15/Jan/2005 09:52:15 31846] [info] Connection to child 20 closed with unclean shutdown (server www.domain.com:443, c$
    [15/Jan/2005 09:52:16 29641] [info] Connection to child 80 closed with unclean shutdown (server www.domain.com:443, c$

    What does this mean?
     
  3. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Do you have any 3rd party programs / scripts installed that monitor httpd and restart it as required ( eg. SIM from rfxnetworks.com ) ? If so, it's probably restarting regular httpd without ssl support.
     
  4. mark1hos

    mark1hos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Hi,

    No we do not have SIM installed.
     
  5. switchsites

    switchsites Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I seem to be having the same problem on one of my servers, and it does have SIM installed, can anyone suggest a solution?

    Regards
    Dean
     
Loading...

Share This Page