Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SSL setup fails - domain owned by system

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bconseev, May 2, 2015.

  1. bconseev

    bconseev Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM account has 1 domain / account on it, shows as owned by root in WHM but running
    /scripts/whoowns domain.com shows "system"

    SSL setup fails with this error:
    The certificate could not be installed on the domain “xxxxxx.com”.
    • The system failed to find an owner for the domain “*.xxxxxx.com”.: The system failed to find an owner for the domain “*.xxxxxx.com”.
     
    #1 bconseev, May 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2015
  2. madmanmachines

    madmanmachines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    It's likely the DNS zone was created in WHM > DNS Functions > Add DNS Zone and "system" was selected for owner. You may need to remove that zone and create an account for the domain.

    Thanks,
     
  3. bconseev

    bconseev Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ended up solving this via the old cPanel SSL fix from back when "nobody" had to be used.

    Checked the site files in /var/cpanel/userdata/username making sure owners were set properly
    Removed the site cache files from /var/cpanel/userdata/username
    Ran /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf

    After this the wildcard cert was able to be installed with no error.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,305
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's also possible you configured the domain name as your system's hostname. Ensure the hostname is not a domain name or subdomain that's added to an account (e.g. server.domain.com instead of domain.com).

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice