The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL setup fails - domain owned by system

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bconseev, May 2, 2015.

  1. bconseev

    bconseev Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM account has 1 domain / account on it, shows as owned by root in WHM but running
    /scripts/whoowns domain.com shows "system"

    SSL setup fails with this error:
    The certificate could not be installed on the domain “xxxxxx.com”.
    • The system failed to find an owner for the domain “*.xxxxxx.com”.: The system failed to find an owner for the domain “*.xxxxxx.com”.
     
    #1 bconseev, May 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2015
  2. madmanmachines

    madmanmachines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    It's likely the DNS zone was created in WHM > DNS Functions > Add DNS Zone and "system" was selected for owner. You may need to remove that zone and create an account for the domain.

    Thanks,
     
  3. bconseev

    bconseev Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ended up solving this via the old cPanel SSL fix from back when "nobody" had to be used.

    Checked the site files in /var/cpanel/userdata/username making sure owners were set properly
    Removed the site cache files from /var/cpanel/userdata/username
    Ran /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf

    After this the wildcard cert was able to be installed with no error.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's also possible you configured the domain name as your system's hostname. Ensure the hostname is not a domain name or subdomain that's added to an account (e.g. server.domain.com instead of domain.com).

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page