The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL setup - fully qualified domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mickeyG, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there... I'm trying to get my domain set up for this SSL certificate and I'm using a GoDaddy certificate. Or, trying to.

    My understanding is that you have to be really specific with your certificate so I need to know.... If my shopping cart is located at

    www.company.com/shoppingcart/index.php

    is that my fully qualified domain name? Or is is just...

    www.company.com


    Help!

    thanks in advance
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /shoppingcart/index.php would not be part of your domain.

    www.domain.com would be a FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name).
     
  3. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks David, I've got it now... well, almost. :)

    Restarting now and crossing fingers.
     
  4. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Error

    Well, I tried to install the .crt and the ca bundle and this is the error I got back from cPanel.


    SSL Host Setup
    Sorry, the system admin has not enabled this feature.


    Is there something that I need to set up with WHM?

    I'm so confused. Grrr. :mad:

    I know I'm kind of in over my head, but I still need to finish this one and learn how to do it for future clients. Without all the headaches.

    Sorry for the rant.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The domain has a dedicated IP address, correct?
     
  6. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, it has a dedicated IP address.

    I sure wish there were a live chat option. I've got so many questions.

    I know I'm in over my head, but I really appreciate the help.
     
  7. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I've gone back and forth between the cPanel for the individual accounts SSL Manager, and WHM's list of menu items. Now it looks like I have two or three different things set up and none of them are working. I've been through the cPanel help files and the GoDaddy help files and I'm just plain confused. I think I need to start over again with a new slate.

    In the WHM, there is the following list of menu items for SSL/TLS:

    * Generate a SSL Certificate and Signing Request
    * Install a SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain
    * Manage SSL Hosts
    * Purchase & Install SSL Certificate
    * SSL Key/Crt Manager


    If I go into SSL Key/Crt Manager, there is a Key made for an incorrect domain (I was still figuring that part out). But there is no option to delete it.

    When I go into Install a SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain and try to install the new certificate for www.mycompany.com, I'm pasting in the .csr that GoDaddy gave me and it's switching the domain over to "Go" and it's saying I don't have an RSA key.

    See what I mean about wanting to start over again? There does not seem to be a good step by step instruction on how to install this certificate anywhere. I'm sure I'll laugh this off someday as something I had to learn, but wow, very frustrated right now.
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct, the most you can do is replace it with a self-signed certificate. Without any certificate, SSL will cease functioning.

    I'm assuming since you mention GoDaddy, they are the source of the SSL Cert? If so, their FAQ on this may be relevant:

    http://help.godaddy.com/article.php?article_id=1255&topic_id=276
     
  9. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, so that help file was very helpful. No, really, it was. For once. ;)

    So I got this statement back from WHM...


    Installing SSL Certificate
    Attempting to verify your certificate..... Cerificate verification passed!
    Verifcation Result [OK]

    The Certificate for the domain mycompany.com was installed on the ip 12.11.111.11.
    Finished Install Process..

    (name and IP changed by me on this post just be safe, though I'm not sure it matters if somebody knows that at this point)


    Soooooo.... I did my little happy dance, and I'm thinking I'm pretty cool...

    But what now? I haven't seen the little padlock show up when I'm on my site. So here's my question, finally.

    In WHM, the account name for this domain is company.com. Everywhere else that I've used this account, I've used the full domain www.company.com... So on the statement I got on the return, it doesn't have the www. Should I be concerned that somehow it didn't work for the FQDN? When I signed up for my certificate and everything, I always made sure to use the www, so it should have worked for that.
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Generally browsers will not displayed a locked/secure icon until you are accessing the website via a SSL protocol (almost always HTTPS) rather than a protocol such as HTTP.

    If you aren't getting any browser errors that the domain you are requesting has a certificate that was applied to another domain, it should be alright.
     
  11. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, so what I'm hoping for here is that when people log on to the site, they will feel that our shopping cart is properly secured. And that I actually do have it secured properly. I can get the logo from GoDaddy, but I'm pretty sure that people will look for the https and the little padlock. Is that something that I can make happen when they go to my site?
     
  12. mickeyG

    mickeyG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Scratch that! I just figured it out. I just had to set the secure checkout on my catalog. It's all good now!

    Thanks for all your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page