The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL with osCommerce

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wsenter, Dec 9, 2003.

  1. wsenter

    wsenter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi, any help would be appreciated on this.

    I have customers running the oscommerce that comes with Cpanel. I also know that CPanel includes a shared Certificate. Is there any way to use the shared SSL certificate for the new customer private info page in oscommerce ?

    Thanks,
    WR
     
  2. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can't remember exactly where its at. But there is a conf file that oscommerce uses. In that configuration file there is a variable for HTTPS. Just change that to read https://secure.server.com/~username/path/to/oscommerce

    If you need further assistance, let me know I'll see if I can find the exact path to the conf file and the line that needs to be editted.
     
  3. wsenter

    wsenter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    SSL / Cpanel

    Sparek,

    Thanks very much for the help. Here is your quote....

    I can't remember exactly where its at. But there is a conf file that oscommerce uses. In that configuration file there is a variable for HTTPS. Just change that to read https://secure.server.com/~username/path/to/oscommerce

    If you need further assistance, let me know I'll see if I can find the exact path to the conf file and the line that needs to be editted.


    I plugged the URL sample into my browser and it didn't work. I removed the "https" and used "http" and it worked. I then plugged in https://secure.server.com:2087 . That worked fine.

    With the users site, I can do - https://www.userdomain.com:2083 and get SSL and that works.

    Any ideas for the correct path ? And by the way the security tweak for users coat tailing with the "~" set so it can be used.

    Thanks
     
  4. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found a client that I helped with this on one of our servers. The file that needs to be editted is:

    /home/user/public_html/catalog/includes/configure.php

    in that file you will see instances of the term "HTTPS" check the contents that are attached to these variables and change them appropriately.

    Code:
    
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://secure.server.com');
    define('ENABLE_SSL', true);
    define('HTTPS_COOKIE_DOMAIN', 'secure.server.com/~user');
    define('HTTPS_COOKIE_PATH', '/catalog/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/~user/catalog/');
    
    
    ]

    The HTTPS_COOKIE_PATH should be the same as just the HTTP_COOKIE_PATH.

    All of this assumes that you have installed the shopping cart in your catalog directory under your public_html directory (i.e. /home/user/public_html/catalog).

    There is also another configure.php file at:

    /home/user/public_html/catalog/admin/includes/configure.php

    I think there is only one line that needs changing here:

    Code:
    define('HTTPS_CATALOG_SERVER', 'https://secure.server.com');
    
    After you have made all of these changes, you can then access your shopping cart securely at:

    https://secure.server.com/~user/catalog

    Hope this helps
     
  5. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I do not think that the default cpanel certificate will work with regualr SSL web browsing. Someone, please, correct me if I am wrong, but on our setup, we purchased a cert for server.hostname.com and installed it like we would any other ssl cert.
     
  6. wsenter

    wsenter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Sparek,

    Most excellent help indeed. I followed your instructions after installing a new GeoTrust SSL and what do you know. It worked the first time. I still dont believe it !

    Thanks very much and have a merry christmas.
     
Loading...

Share This Page