Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SSL3

Discussion in 'Security' started by rene123, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. rene123

    rene123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I get "ssl 3.0 outdated warning" when I check my SSL cert on https://www.digicert.com/help/ and other similar services. See message below.

    Is this a problem? Read alot of different things about this problem.

    Got cPanel Version 11.48.1 (build 2).

    ------------
    "Protocol Support
    TLS 1.0, SSL 3.0, SSL 2.0-

    SSL 3.0 is an outdated protocol version with known vulnerabilities. How can I fix this?"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,160
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    On top of forums, is a search tool link, click that and search for SSL3. have a read thru all of those threads.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. rene123

    rene123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I've done that. Cpanel seems to have applied a fix, which seems to appear in my apache config in whm, but digicert still gives warnings.

    And btw, this thread is 7 pages long about the problem. Maybe more people then me want a fast answer instead of reading through all 7 pages.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,617
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Here are the instructions to disable SSLv3 for Apache:

    1. Go to WHM => Service Configuration => Global Configuration.
    2. SSL/TLS Cipher Suite (the second option, not "SSL Cipher Suite") should contain “All -SSLv2 -SSLv3”.
    3. Go to the bottom of the page, and select the Save button to restart the service.

    If you still receive a warning after this, please contact DigiCert's support team as it might be a false positive.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,160
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Agreed. Still, reading these threads may be of some use. We've got some very smart folks on these forums, posting in those threads, and it's worth reading up on the topic you're interested in regardless of how busy you are.

    I'm fairly certain cPanelMichaels suggestion above is mentioned in that 7 page thread, reading thru it gives context to the topic.

    My apologies for not providing a proper answer to you quicker.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. rene123

    rene123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51

    Thanks for your answer.

    Got "All -SSLv2 -SSLv3 - default". Rebuilt apache in february so this fix should have been applied by then, still digicert shows the error.

    So yea, it's probably a false positive from them.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. rene123

    rene123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Infopro, don't get me wrong. I really appreciate the fast help everyone gets here. Cpanel seems to be a great company that cares about its customers.

    My question haven't been answered in a short thread, and I think other people now can find this thread though Google or forum search without having to write the question again (but I should have written a better title for other users, sorry about that one).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. joako

    joako Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice