The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standalone application for phpMYADMIN

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by toplisek, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. toplisek

    toplisek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If one has access to yourdomain.com:2082, then one has access to phpMyAdmin. Again, phpMyAdmin is similar to other 3rd party applications that included with our product: As I understand there cannot be a separate password for a phpMyAdmin. If one has a phpMyAdmin username that's the same as the domainowner username, they must be synchronized. phpMyAdmin must be set up with a created database username and password. Like any other php-based application, you cannot access the database from an the application with the master username and password. It must be set to use a separate database username and password.

    What are steps to do alone and install?

    There are many databases and all have separate usernames but need access from link to just particular database not seen all other.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I understand, but you can upload and setup phpMyAdmin on your account easy enough by following the installation docs provided with it. In your config for it you can specify which database you'll have access to, and you can (and should) password protect the directory where you've located this phpMyAdmin installation.

    It can be located anywhere, for example yourdoman.com/tools/

    HTH
     
  3. toplisek

    toplisek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi
    1. which permission should have directory tools? 755...
    2. how to password protect the directory where I'm located this phpMyAdmin installation? Password protect the installation location
    3. What is definition of master account username and password as we know I can not use them? master account username and password
     
  4. toplisek

    toplisek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Error while connecting to phpMYSQL

    I have Error while connecting to phpMYSQL:
    SSL received record which is more than maximum length.

    (Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)

    Please advise what is wrong...
    I have put 15 characters for encryption value.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    1. Yes, that should be fine.
    2. Documentation is your friend: Password Protect Directories
    3. MySQL Database Wizard and phpMyAdmin 3.4.0-dev - Documentation should prove helpful to you.
     
  6. toplisek

    toplisek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is point number 2 after installation is made within phpMyadmin? yes?
    Which folders should be checked?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you set this up in the directory you created called tools, then tools is the directory you'll password protect from the Password Protect section of your cPanel.

    You might like to ask your host for assistance with this if you run into problems.
     
  8. toplisek

    toplisek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi you quoted:
    tools is the directory you'll password protect from the Password Protect section of your cPanel.

    What kind protection of this directory should be. So, 755 permission and password protected from Cpanel of this folder in case someone likes to go direct to this folder with URL. So double protection if I understand as first is password and username to connect to files as I think databse can not be accessed via FTP to public_html but ONLY to outside public_html?

    If website redirects to https and certificate how to connect with correct password and username as there is message:
    SSL received record which is more than maximum length.
     
    #8 toplisek, Jan 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2010
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I understand you. There should be no SSL connection or redirection to this directory. What you're doing here is installing a stand alone phpMyAdmin into a publicly accessible directory on your account inside public_html. You are not setting up another way to access cPanel's installation of phpMyAdmin.
     
  10. toplisek

    toplisek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi
    where is possible to be set:

    1. a secure (https) call or non-secure?
    I did NOT make a secure https as I just logged in with username and password
    2. set the destination port to port 80 :)80), as that will generate an error since non-SSL calls are on port 80 and ssl calls are on port 443.
    I did not make destination port to 80 as I do not know where to make this

    Is this in installation in config file or I can manage this by changing config.php or some settings?
     
  11. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That means there's no SSL installed on the IP you're accessing on the server.
     
  12. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Are you accessing a custom phpMyAdmin installation, or are you accessing the stock-default installation via cPanel, or via WHM?
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  14. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:

Share This Page