The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Start Mongrel via command issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CrunchyToast, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. CrunchyToast

    CrunchyToast Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yakima, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have an app that runs on port 12009 and I start it just fine via cPanel, but if I use the command from the app directory, it does not start.

    The app does not start. I'm trying to find the command to make it run so I can configure Monit to restart it if it crashes. The config might be a little odd as I had to use this guide to make the app work.

    Any help would be wonderful. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The command indicates the application is starting, so you are stating it doesn't actually start, but how are you determining this is the case?

    Have you reviewed the logs at /home/username/rails_apps/appname/log/ location? Please note that username is the cPanel username and appname is the application name in the path indicated.
     
  3. CrunchyToast

    CrunchyToast Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yakima, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The log didn't change at all when I ran it and also I could not access the app. Also in cPanel it showed the app as not running and that's how I left it all night. Today I tried to access the app with no change from last night and it's instantly working. If I kill the PID and run the start command again, it isn't available via web access. Do I need to restart Apache too or something?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check if the application is running by checking via ps aux on the port number:

    Code:
    ps aux | grep 12009
    Next, which log are you even checking? There are typically 2 log files, the mongrel log and the development or production log. Please provide the output on date stamps for both and then review both.
     
  5. CrunchyToast

    CrunchyToast Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yakima, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I've got both logs open and I'm watching them with the tail -f command. After running the command to start the app, neither of the logs changed - production.log and mongrel.log.

    mongrel.log AFTER command /usr/bin/ruby script/server -p 12009 -d is blank as is production.log.

    Still tailing both logs and starting the app via cPanel then displays the following upon the app startup:

     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you ps aux the command cPanel is using in SSH? You can again use the same port to find what command it is running.
     
Loading...

Share This Page