The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Statistics increases CPU usage

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by fpr, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. fpr

    fpr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having trouble with CPU usage because the statistics are updated when when they are inactive oo load on the CPU is around 1, but when they are updated are around 25 ~ 30 CPU usage, I would like them to be updated only at dawn this is possible?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can configure times that statistics will not generate via:

    "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Statistics Software Configuration"

    Click on "Configure Statistics Time Schedule" to select the hours that you want to prevent statistics from generating. Note that you can also browse to the "Stats and Logs" tab in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings" and modify the following option:

    "Extra CPUs for server load"

    Per it's description:

    The load average above the number of CPUs at which cpuwatch, cpanellogd, backups, and CPU stats consider the system to be in a critical load state. For example, a server with 4 physical CPUs and a value of 2 in this field will be considered “critical” in these cases once the load reaches 6.

    Thank you.
     
  3. fpr

    fpr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need check in "Configure Statistics Time Schedule" what time you wish to run statistics?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. fpr

    fpr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    was already well and does not work...
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide more details on what aspect of this feature is not working? For instance, are statistics generating during the blackout hours? Or, do you just notice the cpanellogd process itself?

    Thank you.
     
  7. fpr

    fpr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    statistics are updated in the period that I select

    - - - Updated - - -

    for sample now:

    20735 root 38 18 124m 30m 3184 D 0.9 0.2 0:29.99 cpanellogd - up
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's normal for the "cpanellogd" process to still run during the backup hours. Bandwidth will continue to update, and the process remains open to begin generating statistics for accounts when the blackout hours are not active.

    Note: Bandwidth processing will observe blackout hours in cPanel version 11.40.

    Thank you.
     

Share This Page