The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stats Decided To Stop

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jasio, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. Jasio

    Jasio Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I was recently browsing through my Awstats, and my Urchin stats, and I noticed that they suddenly stopped logging anything after June 7th. It's weird, because no server maintenance was done at this time.

    I restarted cpanel, to no avail, and I also ran weblogs manually, which did not help either. The server seems to start to run the logs, and then get clogged up due to high server load, which is weird since the server was idling at 0.01. I have a rather large site which only gets clogged when running stats (40,000+ unique's per month).

    Any ideas? I am running the latest stable build of cPanel, on RHE 3.0 ES.
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    change the extracpus to 10 and try.
     
  3. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    and that will be at : /var/cpanel/cpanel.config ..

    sorry i forgot :)
     
  4. Jasio

    Jasio Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great, thanks :)
     
  5. Gnomercy

    Gnomercy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did this help? I've got a dedicated server customer that is having a similar problem, except that it's only a select few domains that aren't processing their log files and I, too, am at a loss as to the cause of the problem.
     
  6. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Mine also stopped running on June 7th. Any ideas?
     
  7. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Oh, and my extracpus were already set to 4 (I just changed them to 10, although I don't think it will help). The load and cpu usage are low.
     
  8. InvisionHost

    InvisionHost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    has anyone been able to resolve this yet or are we all just twiddling our thumbs?
     
  9. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have the same problem anyone ?
     
  10. Gnomercy

    Gnomercy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My guess (at this point) is that this is something that cpanel is aware of and is characteristically not doing anything about. We all know they read the forums, but since we, as a general rule, can't get them to answer tickets with a bona fide solution to a problem (or even at all), is anyone surprised that there's no solution to this yet?

    InvisionHost, basically, we're trying to set a Guiness record for most simultaneous thumb twiddlers.
     
  11. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I modified /var/cpanel/cpanel.config
    with extracpus=10

    I restarted Apache...
    stats are always stoped at 10th june
     
  12. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Strange. One thing that we had a client whose stats stoped being compiled. I found his account was at its quota level. THey where using all of their space and therefor the server could not write the log files to the account inorder to compile the stasts.

    Im guessing that this is happening on accounts who have plenty of disk space?
     
  13. Gnomercy

    Gnomercy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've seen that same issue with other customers as well. At least one of the customers I'm seeing this with that prompted my original post to this thread doesn't have a quota limit (dedicated server customer and it's his domain). I've not seen the error message to indicate that it's hitting on a disk quota issue when running his weblogs manually either, though running them manually doesn't actually update them.

    I'll run them again when his server is less busy and see what I can farm out. Can't hurt to doublecheck everything.
     
  14. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The stats are not running on any of the accounts on the server.
     
  15. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the same pb that Lamar, I have 150 accounts on this dedicated server and all stopped the 10th june...just after I updated Cpanel/Whm , I tested Release, current and stable...
     
  16. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I dont know what file I have to modify...
    please help us.
     
  17. Gnomercy

    Gnomercy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The general consensus so far is that editing the file doesn't work. Still waiting to hear from cpanel regarding this.
     
  18. Gnomercy

    Gnomercy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Got a response from Cpanel on another ticket I have open with them...

    In part, the response read:

    "If you're having problems with stats or logs, the best course of action would be to periodically run /scripts/cleanbw and /scripts/runlogsnow on your server."


    The response above came in response to a ticket specifically regarding bandwidth issues with sites being suspended for exceeding alloted bandwidth when the option to do so was turned off. Seems they're currently rewriting the bandwidth system. I realize that's off-topic, but I figure just in case someone else is having that issue as well, there you go.

    EDIT: Forgot to mention that I don't know what good runlogsnow will do when runweblogs doesn't update a given username. You folks that are having problems with ALL the domains on your servers, have you run that script to update all the domains at once and had it fail?
     
Loading...

Share This Page