The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stats not updating... Logs not rotating... Usr getting full fast

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Legin76, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi I have a problem with my stats. None of them are updating on the whole server. . This is causing the logs not to rotate and the /usr drive to get full.

    They have not updated since 13 Jan 2011 - 18:17.

    I'm not sure but it may have roughly when cpanel last updated.

    WHM 11.28.64
    REDHAT Enterprise 5.6 i686 standard on srv04

    In Statistics Software Configuration it says

    and the Schedule Summary is

    Web Traffic Statistics every: 12 hours
    Bandwidth Statistics every: 2 hours
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You should go to WHM -> Server Configuration -> Statistics Software Configuration and go to the Schedule Configuration section. By default that is 24 hours. You may want to change this to 48 hours.
     
  3. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok.. Thanks.. I've updated the Log Processing Frequency to 24 hours however I don't understand why this would be a problem. Surly the more often it updates the less it has to do in one go and the load is spread out.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I suppose that might depend on what else is running at the time the logs are processed. You wouldn't want this going on at the same time backups or updates are running for example.

    AFAIK, if I changed these settings you have at 10AM this morning, 24 hours later at 10AM stats logs would be processed. If I changed these settings and then went and changed my backup settings right afterward to something else, it too might be then set to run 24 hours from now, I just changed the setting for them both.


    I'm just curious, do you by chance have Analog stats ticked as "Available to Users"?
     
  5. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm with it being set to 12 hours as it was though surly at one time it was processing something else it would do it the next attempt.

    I've also tried using Process Statistics for User for one site.. Granted the biggest but after a couple of hours there is no change. The load has been very low during this time.

    Yes I believe do.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Analog stats can take up a lot of space on an account.

    Re-reading your original post:
    You might want to see what you can do about clearing out some space. Use the forums search tool to search for: /usr full You'll find many pages of threads on this topic that should be helpful there.
     
  7. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks.. thats how I got down to it being the logs.

    It just discovered that the manual process button does work but it does not update the "Show which users are behind" info which I guess is only updated once or twice a day.


    I've looked round at the other usr folders and other than the domlogs, the biggest folder is /usr/local/cpanel/ and most of that appears to be needed. The largest areas in there by far are /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr and /usr/local/cpanel/src. I can find little on what is safe to delete from those. There are a few mailman folders using about 50mb each though.
     
  8. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Check :

    >> /usr/local/cpanel/logs/
    >> /usr/local/apache/logs
    >> /usr/local/src/
    >> /usr/src
    >> /usr/local/apache/htdocs
     
  9. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks Varada... The logs in those in all those log folders total about 400mb. But the /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr and /usr/local/cpanel/src appear use up the most. Knowing what to delete from those is a worry.

    My usr directory is always on the full side. It would be nice to take a couple of GB from the / directory which only uses 7% of 7.8G.

    I don't think the partition sizes are as balanced as they could be by default. Usr also has 7.8G but uses most of it and logs can grow fast as we all know. I think my / directory would be fine with 2GB unless it needs the space it for some other reason.
     
    #9 Legin76, Jan 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Legin76,

    Only mailman could be moved in the /usr/local/cpanel directory safely for some of the files. You may want to review this guide on how to do that:

    Full /usr partition

    In /usr itself, you could move /usr/local/apache/domlogs to another partition as well and symlink it. The steps to do that would be the following:

    Code:
    cd /usr/local/apache
    mv /usr/local/apache/domlogs /home/
    ln -s /home/domlogs domlogs (you should still be in /usr/local/apache when running this command)
    You may want to make a backup of the domlogs before doing the above. The worst that can happen with domlogs, though, is that you lose the files. If you process them every day, that's only a day or less of data.

    Thanks.
     
  11. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you.

    Does turning on Allow users to update Awstats from cPanel cause cpanel to stop updating them itself? I may have changed that at around the date the issue started.. If it does then its a bad thing.
     
  12. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That setting should not stop Awstats from updating every time the stats run.
     
  13. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Could I use this same instructions to move an account to the second disk? The account is only used for backups from another server via ftp.
     
  14. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It appears thats the logs are still not automatically processing. If I manually process them they appear to do what they should but it still shows as not updating since the 13th Jan in the Statistics Software Configuration area on all accounts. Something appears to be stopping them.

    Stats Last Processed at:
    Thu Jan 13 18:09:46 2011
    Bandwidth Last Processed at:
    Thu Jan 13 23:12:25 2011
     
  15. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Legin76,

    I would suggest opening a ticket with us then at WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature. It's difficult to diagnose why stats aren't processing via the forum, since we'd need to try a run on one or more user accounts manually to see if there are any errors. The manual runs are done with this command in root SSH:

    Code:
    /scripts/runweblogs username
    Where username is the cPanel username for the account. This will one time process stats for the user, which then outputs any possible errors.
     
  16. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could use the mv and symlink commands to move anything, so, yes, you could move an account and then symlink it this way. Otherwise, you could simply move the account if you didn't need to symlink it.
     
  17. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok thanks.. Ticket submitted.. 1179282.
     
  18. rwagener11

    rwagener11 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same issue. Cam out of no where but I can't get the domlogs to process anymore. They just keep filling up.
     
  19. Legin76

    Legin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I believe that in my case there was a file that should have deleted during the last update.

    I think restarting cpanel fixed it although they may have deleted the file first.
     
  20. johnburk

    johnburk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a similar problem. The domlogs get stuck at 512mb and are no longer updating and awstats does not work without domlogs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page