The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[statscheck] Stats/Server Overload !!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adapter, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    after tge upgrade on all my RHEL4 server with the latest stable WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.8.0-R65 the statistic on my servers dont work anymore i have always

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel stats runner on
    While processing the log files for user agritura, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    08:10:07 up 12 days, 20:02, 0 users, load average: 1.20, 1.63, 1.41
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).

    the load average is always around 1 and i have set the extracpus on 4

    thank you
     
  2. checksoft

    checksoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same issue here. I was told by tp:

    The account mentioned is not the source of the problem, but rather where the stats processing stopped. The stats software that cpanel provides and works with the programs that generate stats will pause the processing when the load becomes too high. If it stops for longer than 6 hours, it will generate this email letting you know that stats have not completed as they should have.

    I am investigating further.
    ------------------------------------------

    It appears you had several proftpd processes consuming all available cpu resources and had been running for quite some time. Given the length of time these processes were running, I went ahead and restarted proftpd and this resolved the problem.

    If proftpd is becoming problematic, you may want to consider switching to pure-ftpd.

    That's what they had to say.

    By the way, your email said load average: 1.20, 1.63, 1.41....Well, that load average is pretty low.
     
    #2 checksoft, Oct 29, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2005
  3. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks for the email, i use pure-ftpd and the server load is always low, i have open also a ticket but nobody have reply to me :(

    what OS do u use?
     
  4. checksoft

    checksoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Red Hat Enterprise. I'll need to do some research on the pro vs pure ftp. I've read posts that show pureftp to be a problem in itself, and I'd hate to jump from grill to the fire.

    FYI, here are a couple email warnings I've received:

    This is cPanel stats runner on x!
    While processing the log files for user x, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of this email is 08:34:31 up 92 days, 6:37, 0 users, load average: 5.16, 5.11, 5.04
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load....
    --------------------------------------
    While processing the log files for user y, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of this email is 11:04:50 up 92 days, 9:07, 0 users, load average: 8.23, 8.23, 8.14....
     
Loading...

Share This Page