The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Status update for PHP 7?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Yvo, Dec 4, 2015.

  1. Yvo

    Yvo Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As of yesterday PHP 7.0.0 has been released, searching through the forums I haven't seen any messages about this so excuse me if I did miss that.

    My question: When will it be available to install using EasyApache?
     
  2. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    Please check out this feature request for status updates of PHP 7:

    PHP7 support

    Thanks!
     
    Yvo likes this.
  3. Juan Aguilar

    Juan Aguilar Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, me too request for status updates of PHP 7 Please
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Status updates are posted to the link provided just above you post here in this thread.
     
  5. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I know this is an old thread. But I find it unfortunate that PHP 7 is limited to EasyApache 4. I do not regard it as ready for production, since it is still beta. It would be fair to allow users of EA 3 to upgrade to PHP 7 without excuses. Also I might be willing to try EA 4 if it allowed you to simply import your EA 3 setup without change so you can start from the same setup and make changes, if need be, going forward. It doesn't appear you can do that now. Am I wrong?

    Peace,
    Gene
     
  6. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi Gene

    EA4 is going stable as of v58, which hits release in a few weeks. The EA3 -> EA4 migration script already imports your EA3 configuration and creates an EA4 profile of which you can provision easily. I'd recommend trying it out. We have no current plans to offer PHP 7 as it's almost deprecated.
     
  7. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I, of course, would mean PHP 7.0.7, which is the version I have on my former Plesk server.

    All right, so what you're saying is that when I set up EA4, it will simply copy my current EA3 setup, and not change a thing, unless I choose to go to PHP 7.x right? No danger? This is a production server.

    Peace,
    Gene
     
  8. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Gene,

    Yep, 7.0.7 is the version that EA4 is also running:
    Code:
    root@cpanel [~]# rpm -qa | grep ea-php70
    ea-php70-php-cli-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-curl-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-gd-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-runtime-7.0.7-1.1.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-fpm-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-common-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-pdo-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-mbstring-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-xml-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-opcache-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-7.0.7-1.1.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-posix-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-mysqlnd-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-php-ftp-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    ea-php70-pear-1.10.1-2.2.noarch
    ea-php70-php-devel-7.0.7-1.3.x86_64
    When you run the migration script, it will do it's best to do a full mapping from EA3 -> EA4, prompting you to let you know of any extensions / modules you have enabled in EA3 that aren't available in EA4 (most are deprecated / not used any longer, or just not compatible with Apache 2.4). While most migrations are seamless, you might find things need to be tweaked with your accounts, so it's best to do a full inspection of your accounts / domains immediately after migrating and watching the logs for any problems. There's a danger with any platform migrations, and a chance that things will not go 100% smoothly. If you're not familiar with EA4 or it's new locations, I'd recommend checking out EA4 documentation and ensuring you're ready to go when you migrate.
     
  9. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If it goes bad, can you revert back to EA3 without having to reinvent wheels?

    Peace,
    Gene
     
  10. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
  11. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Offhand, I'd like to see a preflight feature, where you see, before you make the move, the consequences in terms of models that aren't supported, etc.

    Peace,
    Gene
     
Loading...

Share This Page