The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

stdin: is not a tty

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shazad, May 26, 2002.

  1. shazad

    shazad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I sometimes get this message as was wondering what it means ????


    stdin: is not a tty


    Thanks,
    Shazad.
     
  2. hst

    hst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No problem

    This just means that you're not loggin in from a terminal to whm. It doen't mean anything is wrong.

    Have a great day!
     
  3. snowgod

    snowgod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    From a program standpoint it is an error generated by a library function when the program being run attempts to, in some way, modify the terminal enviroment but discovers that it's output is simply being piped, either directly to your terminal from a script, or back to you through WHM/Cpanel.

    Suffice it to say, as hst pointed out, it is nothing to be concerned about. You will see this warning on a normal basis in any cpanel system.
     
  4. nuclear

    nuclear Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If anyone is actually interested in how to get rid of this message, comment out (or remove) the line that says "mesg y" from /etc/bashrc

    this line simply allows others to send messages to your shell using the write command...not exactly the most important line in bashrc....

    Most people ignore this error, but recently I discovered WHM Autopilot did not handle that message well during some operations and needed to find out where the error was being generated and how to get rid of it.


    (My particular problem was occuring during account creation with slave/master dns...the error would show up in the account creation report. To solve this I commented the above line out of /etc/bashrc on the master dns server.)
     
    #4 nuclear, Jun 13, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2003
  5. darkcreature

    darkcreature Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you nuclear. The other's opinions on not being important are fine though aswell, but when I have resellers asking me what it means and that I have to constantly rexplain to them what it is it may get annoying.

    Ben Tomasik
    IDDrive.com
     
Loading...

Share This Page