The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Step by step instructions for configuring WHM for NAT

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by clk320, Mar 9, 2012.

1. clk320

clk320 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

First, let me start with the full disclosure that I am a Linux newbie. So far I have been able to create my virtual host on Amazon's EC2 infrastructure, run my own DNS server there too, and install cPanel/WHM. I also did fair amount of further configuration, but finally reached the limit of my current skills.

I believe I need step by step directions how to configure cPanel to work on Amazon's EC2 cloud in a NAT environment. Specifically, I am running into a situation where domains that have no content uploaded to the virtual directory do show the generic cPanel splash page, but if there is any content in the virtual directory I get a 404 error message. You can see the generic at /http://www.acominternational.com and the 404 at /http://www.acominternational.com/phpsecinfo-20070406/

So I suspect that my problem is the Amazon NAT. I have seen quite a few posts here on how to make it work, but what I (and chances are other newbies like me) need is literally a step by step, type this, type that kind of instructions for making NAT work. I would imagine this would also help cPanel Support to reduce the number of tickets related to NAT issues.

Thank you in advance for your help.

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel does not support NAT configurations in any way.

If the server is setup properly, have you created an account for that domain? If not, try that.

3. Eric

Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,