Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Steps to add new DNS-Only server to existing cluster?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by electric, Aug 19, 2017.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Hello,

    Can anyone tell me what are the exact steps to create and add a new cpanel DNS-Only server to an existing cpanel DNS Cluster?

    (We have 2 existing DNS-Only servers, and want to add a 3rd but it's been many years since we did this.)

    Here is what I have:

    1. Build new cpanel server using DNS-Only. (Let's call it "NewNameserver".)
    2. Login as root to WHM on NewNameserver and click the Home »Clusters »DNS Cluster link.
    3. Click the "Enable DNS Clustering" button.
    4. Ffor EACH web hosting server:
      1. Login as root to WHM on the web hosting server and click the Home »Clusters »DNS Cluster link.
      2. Click the "Configure" button under the "Add a new server to the cluster" section.
      3. Enter the hostname for NewNameserver, root username, and root access hash.
      4. Check the "Setup Reverse Trust Relationship" box.
      5. For DNS Role, choose the Synchronize Changes option.
      6. Click the Submit button.
    5. Go to step #4 and repeat for every web hosting server.
    Is this correct?

    QUESTIONS:
    1. Should we be using "Write-only" as the DNS Role instead of Synchronize Changes?

    2. How do we get all the zonefiles from the existing two DNS-Only servers to copy over to the NewNameserver so all three DNS-Only servers will be serving the same zonefiles?
    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Those are the correct steps, assuming you want to use "Synchronize Changes" as the DNS role instead of "Write Only". You can read the full steps, including information about each DNS role, at:

    Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation
    DNS Cluster - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    DNS zones will automatically sync from the hosting servers to the new DNS-Only server after you've setup clustering. However, if you want to manually synchronize your DNS zones, you can review the steps listed on the following document:

    Synchronize DNS Records - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    What should be the role for our DNS-Only nameservers where the zonefiles are served from?

    What should be the role for our web hosting servers that are "sending" zonefile updates to the DNS-Only servers?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Standalone.

    Synchronize Changes or Write-Only.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. tui

    tui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, i have the same case, everything seems to be working but i think that @electric miss something:

    For each hosting server, you need to add the new name server on "WHM > Basic WebHost Manager Setup" at the bottom on Nameservers section.

    Now, my question:

    Doing all steps does not write the new ns record to existing zones, the new ns record will write only to new or future zones, so now we need to add the new ns record to existing zones, is there any way to add the new ns record to all existing zones? i have 10000+ zones, doing manually one by one will take me forever.
     
    #5 tui, Sep 23, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may find this thread helpful:

    Bulk DNS Zone Update

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice