The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Still no Website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fjgj99, Jan 4, 2005.

  1. fjgj99

    fjgj99 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Ok, I FTPd my html script in th Public/_html folder. I put the DNS Settings to cyberwurx like a week ago.

    1. Is this the right folder location? If so, why is it that I can't see my site?

    What do I do?
    :confused:

    Please advise.

    Frank
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What do you see if you go to your URL? A list of files?

    The main page needs to be called index.html, index.htm, index.php, or one of a few other similar options, all lower case, otherwise you will just get a list of files, or a 403 page.
     
  3. fjgj99

    fjgj99 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Mike,

    I renamed the file. Below is what I see. Originally I registered with Network Solutions. I changed the DNS Settings about a week ago. Once I changed the DNS settings from Network SOlutions, below is what I got. In the meantime, I am going to try some of the extensions that you mentioned to see what happens.

    Thanks for your help. If you have anymore tips, please let me know.


    There is no website configured at this address.

    You are seeing this page because there is nothing configured for the site you have requested. If you think you are seeing this page in error, please contact the site administrator or datacenter responsible for this site.
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
  5. fjgj99

    fjgj99 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Mike,

    Thanks for that website.... I will book mark it. My domain is www.spanishchixxx.com

    It looks like the only problem i have is with my mail server. I also have to fix the SO A Refresh.....whatever and wherever that may be....
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Domain Name: SPANISHCHIXXX.COM
    Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
    Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
    Referral URL: http://www.networksolutions.com
    Name Server: NS9.WORLDNIC.COM
    Name Server: NS10.WORLDNIC.COM

    The domain does not have a db entry at the above mentioned nameservers. Are these the nameservers for your domain ?
     
  7. fjgj99

    fjgj99 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Hi.... those are not the nameservers for my site. At least not that I know of. I changed the DNS settings at Network solutions and the page now refers to Cpanel. What do you recommend I do?

    Frank
     
  8. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    in case u have changed the nameservers and the domain is correctly pointed to the correct ip address; then the very possibility is that your domain dosent have an entry at the httpd.conf. Hence it is suggested that you please check whether your server has the domain entry at the httpd.conf.

    As for another case the domain pings with www in front as below:
    =======================
    ping www.spanishchixxx.com
    PING www.spanishchixxx.com (66.154.16.65) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 66.154.16.65: icmp_seq=0 ttl=52 time=21.4 ms
    64 bytes from 66.154.16.65: icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=21.0 ms
    =======================
    while without www it shows:
    =======================
    ping spanishchixxx.com
    ping: unknown host spanishchixxx.com
    =======================

    Hence it clearly shows that there is some error at the DNS. and if it is not; then the server at 66.154.16.65 does not have an entry for the mentioned domain at the httpd.conf.. (the reason for www.spanishchixxx.com giving default cpanel page).
     
Loading...

Share This Page