The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

stop all kind of updating

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dendis, Jul 8, 2004.

  1. dendis

    dendis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello everyone

    how to stop cpanel from updating awstats and updating bandwidth ?

    maybe stupid question by we have 1500+ accounts on server and maybe 5% of users check awstats so why do we need to update them at all ??

    I have enabled "Enable users to update awstats from cpanel" and everybody are happy :)

    but it looks like cpanel tries to update them again and again.. I always see /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd running and updating stats :(

    How to stop that ?

    Also I think cpanellogd also updates bandwidth usage yes?

    So how to stop it ?

    I will run /scripts/cleanbw once per 5 days via cron. I don't want to update bandwidth every day when load is high making it more high. and I will not die is someone will waste 100 mb over the limit but we will save a huge part of server cpu resources.

    I have checked that the server load when cpanellogd is sleeping is 1-2 (note we host over 1500 domains) and when it is running load goes to 6-8.. (yes, it have to be so, because cpanel must process 1500 accounts but is it worth when only 5% of domain owners are interested in stats and 5% of all accounts use more that 500 mb bandwidth per month??)

    Thanks for reading, all comments are welcome.
     
  2. Jaime

    Jaime Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Palma de Mallorca
    There's a variable in /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd:

    $skipawstats = 0;

    Maybe if you turn it to 1, cpanellod will not upgrade awstats.

    Jaime
     
  3. dendis

    dendis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think 0 - false 1 - true

    or how ?

    I see $skipwebalizer = 0; at /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd
    and we don't have webalizer
     
  4. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is good question.
    I have the same situation with 2000+ domains and cpanellogd is very costly for resources.

    I'd like to keep bandwidth updated (or to know how to do it manually) but cpanellog to stop at all.

    Anybody knows solution?
     
Loading...

Share This Page