Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stopped Receiving Server Backup Notifications

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by stefmob, May 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. stefmob

stefmob Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi guys,

I'm a website owner, but I'm really new to managing my own server. Please bear with me.

I had a guy set up my server for me, but I figured that learning how to manage my own server is a good long-term investment.

I'll be in the web business for a lifetime...so I'll be sticking around these forums for quite a while.

Anyway, here's my server information according to WHM: CENTOS 6.9 x86_64 xen hvm / cPanel & WHM 64.0 (build 24)

While my biggest overall problem is going to involve figuring out how to maintain my own server, for now, I have an immediate issue at hand:

I've stopped receiving server backup notifications via e-mail.

Here's what I've done to try my best to solve this issue:
    • I've checked my backup configuration, and daily backups are enabled with 3 retention backups
    • Weekly backups are enabled, with 2 retention backups
    • Monthly backups are enabled, with 1 retention backups
    • Looked in Contact Manager, and set "Backup Successful" importance to "High", and verified that the correct e-mail address is listed
    I *think* I might have stopped receiving backup notifications after I last ran yum update to update the kernel, because I know this happened around the same time period. But, I'm not totally positive of this.

Can anyone please advise me as to what to do?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks much!

-Stef

#1 stefmob, May 25, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 25, 2017
  2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst