The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stopping mailman services Issue

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Emiliano, May 13, 2011.

  1. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Hello,
    I receive the following error when I restart the cpanel via SSH



    Stopping mailman services: Shutting down Mailman's master qrunner
    PID unreadable in: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid
    [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid'
    Is qrunner even running?
    mailmanctl: no process killed
    [FAILED]


    Does anyone know how i can fix that shutting down of mailman master qrunner?

    Thank you very much in advance.:)
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have mailman enabled in WHM > Tweak Settings > Enable Mailman mailing lists area? It would be set to "On" if enabled, "Off" if disabled. If you have it set to "Off" button, then you should disregard the message as it cannot be found due to the fact it isn't enabled.
     
  3. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Yes it is ON. Has been on since forever.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check it is properly running:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_mailman --status
    Also, please check that the pid file does exist:

    Code:
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid
    Also, let's see the permissions on the pid file:

    Code:
    ls -lah /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid
     
  5. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Hello again and thank you for your fast responds.

    I tried in ssh typing in directly as shown bellow:


    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# /scripts/restartsrv_mailman --status
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# cat /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid
    cat: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid: No such file or directory
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]#
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# ls -lah /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid
    /bin/ls: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid: No such file or directory
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]#
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mailman cannot be running given those commands. Can you check WHM > Service Manager to see that mailman is set to be enabled there as well?
     
  7. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    yes it is ticked the enabled area- but the monitor areas is not ticked
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does this return anything?

    Code:
    ps aux | grep python
    Also, to confirm, this is a CentOS or RedHat system rather than FreeBSD, right?
     
  9. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    the command above returned the following:

    root 17438 0.0 0.0 1920 496 pts/1 S+ 15:56 0:00 grep python

    And yes, it is CentOS- from godaddy VPS
     
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try to restart mailman:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_mailman
    Then check if it is running again:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_mailman --status
    ps aux | grep python
    If it isn't, force a reinstall of it:

    Code:
    /scripts/reinstallmailman
     
  11. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    I think you did the trick since i am getting :

    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# /scripts/restartsrv_mailman
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# /scripts/restartsrv_mailman --status
    mailmanctl (/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/mailmanctl --stale-lock-cleanup start) running as mailman with PID 25982
    3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner (/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=RetryRunner:0:1 -s) running as mailman with PID 25992
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# ps aux | grep python
    mailman 25982 0.0 0.4 10408 4356 ? Ss 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/mailmanctl --stale-lock-cleanup start
    mailman 25985 0.7 0.5 10344 6020 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=ArchRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25986 0.8 0.5 10400 6036 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=BounceRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25987 0.8 0.5 10396 6036 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=CommandRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25988 0.8 0.5 10444 6032 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=IncomingRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25989 0.7 0.5 10444 6056 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=NewsRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25990 0.7 0.5 10396 6104 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=OutgoingRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25991 0.7 0.5 10396 6028 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=VirginRunner:0:1 -s
    mailman 25992 0.7 0.5 10396 6020 ? S 16:22 0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/python /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrunner --runner=RetryRunner:0:1 -s
    root 26319 0.0 0.0 1920 504 pts/0 S+ 16:23 0:00 grep python



    But on the other hand when i do again service cpanel restart
    i receive the following :
    Stopping mailman services: Shutting down Mailman's master qrunner
    mailmanctl: no process killed
    [FAILED]
     
  12. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is mailman running after the cPanel restart at that point, though? If it is, then I would not consider that any issue. You could also test mailman by creating a mailing list and testing it at that point.
     
  13. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    yeah it is

    but I can not access the websites at all
    all the websites in the server are down.
    Even cpanel - mail etc
     
  14. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Problems found: 85
    Re-run as mailman (or root) with -f flag to fix

    how do i do that in ssh?

    i just type in root
    mailman -f flag ?
     
  15. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Restarting mailman would not cause your websites to go down, which run on Apache, nor cPanel to go down. Now, restarting cPanel could cause cPanel to go down if it didn't restart properly.

    I'm a bit more concerned about your websites being reported down and cPanel over mailman, since mailman is a low priority in that scenario. Is your machine running Apache?

    Code:
    ps aux | grep httpd
    By your sites being down, you do mean the websites on port 80 right? Please clarify what is meant by down here, they are hanging, they are returning some error, what precisely?

    Next, is cPanel itself running?

    Code:
    service cpanel status
    It almost would sound like something with the firewall to me if a bunch of service suddenly quit being accessible (if they are indeed still running).

    Until I know cPanel and Apache are working properly, I'm going to focus on those two rather than mailman.
     
  16. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    I have the server where i have placed many websites.
    I had changed the /etc/bashrc file a couple days ago and i placed it back to the default cpanel bashrc
    Since then , i have been facing all those troubles:
    Websites not showing
    webdisport.com (i guess they run on standard port 80)
    3iqs.com (i guess they run on standard port 80)
    also their email is not working. webmail.3iqs.com

    now when i run ps aux | grep httpd
    I got
    root 4085 0.0 0.0 1920 500 pts/0 S+ 17:05 0:00 grep httpd



    Now for cpanel running i got:
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# service cpanel status
    cpsrvd (pid 32475) is running...
    entropychat is stopped
    melange is stopped
    stunnel is stopped
    interchange is stopped
    qrunner is stopped

    As for Apache:
    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# apachectl start
    Syntax error on line 768 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    SSLCertificateFile: file '/etc/ssl/certs/varravinga.com.crt' does not exist or is empty
     
  17. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apache isn't able to start due to the fact that varravinga.com doesn't have an SSL certificate file at /etc/ssl/certs/ location but has one set in the httpd.conf file. If that site doesn't have an SSL certificate, you'll have to remove the SSL in WHM for that domain, then restart Apache again.

    At this point, I would really suggest opening up a ticket. The forum isn't the location for emergency issues like Apache not running. Mailman is something we could troubleshoot here, but Apache not running would be considered pretty vital. WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature would be the way to open up a ticket.
     
  18. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Thank you very much.
     
  19. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    YES DONE !!!
    I removed the ssl as mentioned and it works

    root@ip-72-167-167-187 [~]# apachectl start
    httpd (pid 24189) already running

    :)
     
  20. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does cPanel work now as well then? You mentioned cPanel wasn't working, although cpsrvd was running, so cPanel should be running.
     
Loading...

Share This Page