The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange bandwidth issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Annette, Dec 24, 2001.

  1. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have a user with two pointed domains under his account (each of which is parked on a subdomain of that account). The master account comes up fine - but the two pointers both report back with bandwidth exceeded messages, although the master domain reports only a tiny fraction of usage for their limit. This is the first time we\'ve seen anything like this and it doesn\'t appear to have affected anyone else who has something similar in the way of pointed domains. Has anyone seen anything like this? Any ideas on how to repair it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does it fix it if you go to limit bandwidth and just update it? No need to make an adjustment, just update with the current setting.
     
  3. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope - tried that. Also tried bumping it up, but that had no effect on it. I now have a report from someone else as well with exactly the same problem, only this one is just a parked domain, not pointed like the two above. It\'s the strangest thing, really, and so far we haven\'t been able to get around it.

    Any other ideas/suggestions?
     
  4. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK, this is ballooning into a huge issue, because now we have reports from quite a few other people with exactly the same problem. Perhaps someone (Nick?) could chime in here with something that will help resolve this problem?
     
  5. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK, further weirdness: the pointed domains do not work, but the subdomains on which they are parked do. So if pointeddomain.com is parked on sub.domain.com, the latter works and the former gives a bandwidth exceeded.

    Any thoughts on a) why this would be the case and b) how to fix the pointed domain issue?
     
  6. nitsua

    nitsua Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You might try adding all your domains that are on that particlar server to your hosts file. It seems to help my bandwidth across our network...

    :P
     
  7. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    this could very well be related to the problem I have with a particular domain, created it, within 30 minutes it was 3X over the bandwidth limit according to WHM, even though there was zero actual transfer.
     
  8. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Same here, 43.9 GB transfer on a newly created account :eek:

    cpanel4 [4.0.0-STABLE_177]

    --
    Juanra
     
  9. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I\'ve noticed the same thing with regard to newly created accounts generating transfer alerts. One of our resellers added an account at 10:58AM today, and at 11:21AM we received an 80% threshold alert, although there is nothing on the site at all as the end user has yet to upload a single file. This problem is occurring across all servers. The odd issue that started this thread is now restricted to only one server out of all the cPanel-based servers we maintain.
     
  10. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hate to chime in here with this, but I had the same thing happen on one of our servers. A new account was created, then 30 minutes later the bandwidth report showed 225GB !!!
     
  11. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  12. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Haven\'t sold a darn thing in 3 days .. so just for the hell of it. Created a new account. no real domain ..just fake. Thought everything was ok until 30 minutes later. boom!
     
  13. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    GARH!!

    Deleted the original account with the problem, recreated a new account and within 30 minutes it was up over BW again... ...this has effectively destroyed the ability to create accounts and sign on new clients.

    \"Hi, here\'s your account information, but you have less than 30 minutes to use it, until then it\'s offline until the end of the month\" I don\'t think so.
     
  14. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Update (well, really more of a correction): the issue that started this thread is not restricted to only one server. One of our resellers picked up the same problem on another server as well, although I had checked a random account on that box and checked its pointers without issue. Both of these issues - the pointers and the high transfer levels for new accounts - are probably intertwined, but they both need to be addressed ASAP. It\'s pretty difficult to run a business with these particular types of problems, as there is no workaround available for them.
     
  15. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I agree... it\'s impossible to run a hosting company when within 30 minutes all new accounts stop working.
     
  16. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has any submitted a support ticket for this issue yet or gotten ahold of Nick to make sure he knows?
     
  17. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was under the impression that one of the VO admins submitted a bug report or otherwise contacted Nick/the cpanel team.

    [Edited on 12/26/01 by indiboi]
     
  18. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yea but I have put bugs up there a real long time ago that still show new so I wouldn\'t count on a bug report being seen real soon.
     
  19. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well they need to get their act together!
     
  20. Vince

    Vince Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not sure if this has been resolved, but just disable mod_bwlimited as a workaround.

    Vince.
     
Loading...

Share This Page