The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

strange issue with domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cazny, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. cazny

    cazny BANNED

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a domain setup on the server "yourdomain.com" and been propagated fully to the server for 3 days already.

    The domain shows page not found. Checked named.conf and info was missing so I added it. Info was missing from localdomains.conf and added it. Still doesn't work even after restarting BIND.

    It shows another client's site! ???

    Any suggestions what may cause it?
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not much info to help you out.
    Do you have other domains that are working?
    Are you running your own name servers?
    Have you checked the httpd.conf for errors?
    Post or PM some additional info so someone can check it out.
     
  3. cazny

    cazny BANNED

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK

    localdomains
    named.conf
    dns zone in whm

    all fine

    DC has suggested perhaps it maybe a apache virtual host configuration file is "somehow missing a server alias" directive for the domain.

    How can I fix this?

    It is strange because it works as this

    http://www.domain.com
    www.domain.com

    but not http://domain.com (notice that only without www it won't work).

    Why? What file would I check to correct this? I'm pretty baffled by this
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Double check the "ServerAlias" parameter for the domain in /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf. Should look like ServerAlias "domain" "www.domain"
     
  5. cazny

    cazny BANNED

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That line was missing and so I added it, restarted BIND and Apache - same issue:

    <VirtualHost 69.9.166.50>
    ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/mommylaw/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/domain.com-bytes_log
    <IfModule mod_userdir.c>
    UserDir disabled
    UserDir enabled mommylaw
    </IfModule>
    ServerName www.domain.com
    ServerAlias www.domain.com domain.com
    User mommylaw
    Group mommylaw
    CustomLog domlogs/domain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mommylaw/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>


    Is something else missing? Anything else I can do?
     
  6. cazny

    cazny BANNED

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry, it does work now.

    Thanks for your help
     
Loading...

Share This Page