The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange Reboot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kris1351, Aug 28, 2003.

  1. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Ran /scripts/fixquotas because all the quotas were out of whack as usual. It finishes and bam the server reboots. No errors, no messages or anything. Kind of wierd, it listed the main domain of the server as having 0meg of space also.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The server shouldn't just reboot on its own and that cPanel script does not invoke a reboot. I would suggest you ask anyone who has access to your machine if they rebooted the machine, if no one did, then you should check your hardware, ask your data center to see if they did it and of course complete a security audit (should be done on a regular basis anyway).

    Your quotas are probably out of whack because your machine isn't configured correctly as quotas are 98% handled by the operating system and not cPanel.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    They Cpanel quotas are always out of whack. You can see hundreds of posts here. The script ended and the machine went down. There were no others logged in, no boot messages and no errors in the messages files. The box is configured fine as we have several of these. Even the fixquotas script was showing wierd things as it ran.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I really don't think that quota errors would bring your box down. The only type of error that would cause your box to go offline would be perhaps some kind of I/O, controller, etc. type of error.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What kernel do you have installed? The quotas being out of whack are a result of a bug in the latest Redhat kernels, not because of anything cPanel did.

    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=90939

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. JPmorgan

    JPmorgan BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    FYI, i noticed quota problems on my server at 4am ran fixquotas. The server went down like a ton of bricks. While it may not have physically crashed a reboot was necessary because it was unuvailable for 20min which indicates that fixquotas really does a number on CPU load. It spirials out of contol until the cpu cycles spike to a point where one cannot get the systems attention. The kernel i am using is does not have the quota issue. I am not alone on this issue!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page