Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Strange redirect to https problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by trec-r, Aug 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. trec-r

    trec-r Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just created a new account that does not need SSL. It is defaulting to https. There are zero redirects setup in cPanel and .htaccess is empty. Using host.name.com/~useraccount allows access without redirecting to https. Checked AutoSSL in WHM is off. Restarted Apache with no change.

    This domain was parked on another account that did have SSL setup. Not sure if that could be part of the problem or not.

    Anyone have ideas of what could be causing the problem?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,477
    Likes Received:
    1,962
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Is there an application installed to this domain name's document root? If so, ensure there are no values for the https URL in the application's configuration file.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. trec-r

    trec-r Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We noticed the problem before any applications were installed for the account. public_html was completely empty.
     
  4. trec-r

    trec-r Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We ended up removing the account and then recreating it. That fixed the problem. Just not sure why it happened in the first place.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,477
    Likes Received:
    1,962
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm happy to see the issue is now resolved. It seems like it might have been a browser or DNS cache issue, since the domain name was previously added to another account. Feel free to let us know if you encounter any additional issues.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. trec-r

    trec-r Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Was not a browser cache issue, tested on multiple devices. We also cleared local DNS cache. However, it could have been an issue on the servers DNS cache.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice