The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange Subdomain behaviour

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by habakuk, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. habakuk

    habakuk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Cpanel Forum,
    Have a strange problem with a single subdomain.

    Since today night a subdomain (blah.domain.com) redirects to a wrong IP Adress from another company. All other subdomains work fine, all configurations are fine, everythink works ok. But this single Domain "was stolen" by another IP Adress. Why? Wehere is the problem? Ist this an attack?

    please help me - I am confused
     
  2. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Check the DNS zone for the domain to make sure the record for the subdomain hasn't been changed, also check any settings within the domains files, such as .htaccess that may be redirecting the site to another ip.
     
  3. GBen

    GBen Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    cottage country Ontario Canada
    subdomain was swiped somehow

    I had the same experience both with the same subdomain which I had not set up.

    First time, it was just after cPanel was installed, I typed in mail.mydomain.com and a site selling laptop popped up, I checked with host he replied it was a cPanel bug and is now fixed.
    I switched hosts, for other reasons, now with another and checked mail.mydomain.com and there is cPanel saying what a wonderful thing that my Apache is working. Duh, what's with that?
    :confused:
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The green "Great Success!" page is present when there is no website configured for the address you are requesting on the server.

    I know on my server, I merely redirect http://mail.domain.com to http://domain.com since there's no reason to be accessing mail.domain.com with a web browser (its used for POP3/IMAP clients).
     
  5. CharlyHEG

    CharlyHEG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do you enable or configure this page? I have some dude who put my dns into his domain configuration.

    Sometimes it lands on my website and sometimes it lands on a "Internet Explorer cannot diplay this page" message.

    I want to enable the "no website configured at this address" to stop this.

    Thank you for your reply.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is no way to disable this functionality, so you wont need to enable it.

    If you want to take action against a specific domain, create an account for that domain on your server then you can place whatever you want in that account's public_html that will be displayed/used whenever their page is requested from your server.
     
  7. CharlyHEG

    CharlyHEG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK, then how do I force the page to show up?

    I'd rather have that page shown than create websites using up space.

    I use a WHM and have a reseller account configured so I can use custom DNS's. Is this why the page is not showing? Because "root" is not the owner of the DNS?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To have the page show up, simply delete whatever account may exist that prevents the default screen from appearing. If you have custom DNS references on your server for that domain, you may wish to remove those as well to ensure the green page is displayed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page