The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Streaming Broadcast

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Spokuz, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. Spokuz

    Spokuz Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am looking for a script to permit my clients to have a radio. Do you use anyone? Have you ever used one?
     
  2. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  3. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nor something you would WANT them to install. It would be way to server hogish(if I may). It would truly not be fair to the other clients in the server with this guy/gal chewing up resources.
     
  4. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    actually, try shoutcast.com

    I run multiple shoutcast stations off one server, and my average load never exceeds .05
    So long as it's done correctly, he'll have no problems.

    Chew
     
  5. challii

    challii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do you monitor the bandwidth though? We have a client who wants to run a shoutcast server, and the only way i can see is to use bandmin and have the user use his own dedicated ip, but then cpanel functions (like disable on bandwidth overusage) wont work...
     
  6. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We also use shoutcast.

    But setup servers for people who truly want to stream media and put them / transfer them over to those servers. Then again those servers are much larger in terms of speed mem and hd capacity...
     
  7. bullethost696

    bullethost696 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    MRTG is the best bet as cPanel and WHM will not log for certain ports
     
  8. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    As long as the service runs under the actual "users" name, bandwidth limits should work although you could not actually view the port usage in cpanel.
     
  9. challii

    challii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    so just give them shell access and tell them to run the file themselves?

    Is there a way to get a file to run as a user? so we can control the running of the service!
     
  10. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I would not recommend giving any user shell... but yes, we enable the users jailshell.

    Then let them execute the server or execute it for them with "su username".

    Of course the file would have to be executed again if the sever reboots. However, seems a small price for users to pay that get the ability to run miscellaneous servers.

    I do this for some ventrilo users.
     
    #10 lostinspace, Oct 31, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2004
  11. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    anyone have some insturctions for installing mrtg for cpanel on a fedora core 2 box?
     

Share This Page