The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

struggleing to set up my VPS.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aedges, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. aedges

    aedges Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been searching and following guides found on google for 3 days and finally im asking for help!

    First of all my vps came preloaded with CentOS 5 32bit so i guess this is either the best choice for most vps or the most prefer'd.

    Secondly i installed cpanel following a set of instruction i have found for SSH

    Code:
    # yum install selinux coreutils binutils make dialog gcc gcc-* glib*
    # yum install libexi* libjpe* libpng* gifl* freetype curl curl-* xmlrpc
    # yum upgrade kernel*
    # yum update 
    
    # cpan
    > install CPAN
    > reload CPAN
    > quit
    
    # cd
    # wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/cpanel-universal-install.sea
    # chmod 700 ./cpanel-universal-install.sea
    # ./cpanel-universal-install.sea
    
    # /scripts/checkperlmodules (Apparently this gets rid of errors and is to be run until 0 errors appear)
    
    After this Obviously i follow the installation and setup DNS

    Once i have confirmed that dns are correct and i establish that everything is ok i try to run easyapache and follow some tips found on the site below and select what i think i need.
    Updating Apache using Cpanel EasyApache

    Once this completes my memory goes up to 90% and no files work on hosting accounts the server. (ie .html with just text images or php)

    After this i install fantastico on the backend everything seems to be working fine but on the front everything is blank or 500 error

    So i have a few questions.

    1, Am i doing everything right? if not what do i need to add/change?
    2, When running easyapache what selections do i make? i need a standard host setup nothing special like a gameserver or video hosting exc just for running scripts simler to those in fantastico.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated but in the mean time i will continue un-installing and re-installing changing a few things here and there.

    Many thanks
     
  2. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello there,

    Not sure where you found those instructions, please take a look here:

    Quick Start Installation Guide

    If possible, I would re-image your VPS, and start the install process from scratch.

    Chris
     
  3. aedges

    aedges Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi. That guide was from these forums posted not so long ago.

    Thanks for pointing me to that
    I have re-imaged my os

    cpanel is taking a lot longer to install so i would guess that means it is installing the right way now :)

    Again thanks
     
  4. rgpayne

    rgpayne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Cpanel should take less than an hour on a vps

     
  5. kimper

    kimper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    It depend on memory....I've seen cPanel installations on VPS in 2 hours and more...
     
Loading...

Share This Page