The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling to make an automatic backup via cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by luminous, Apr 3, 2011.

1. luminous

luminous Member

Hi all. I am a new web designer, and have taken the step to buy a reseller account over at Zen. I have more than 10 sites that I look after, and am now in the situation where I would like to create automatic backups, as making manuals ones for each and every cPanel is just too labourious.

I have read about various scripts that you can download, and then use cron to make them run. I have wiki'ed cron and tried to find a suitable guide, but am not making much progress.

I have my own ftp server with 1Tb space available to accept the backups I make, but I have no idea how to properly configure the cpanel or my web servers to get this process underway.

Could someone point me to a guide that will hold my hand through this?
    a) I have no understanding of cron with regards to my reseller account. I can find no mention of cron anywhere, either on the cPanel, the servers folders or my hosting account - so all the wonderful information about adding xyz to cron is not helping me at all
    b) I have found a few scripts that look promising, but will happily accept recommendations to get this going.

Sorry for my noobness, but we were all there at some point!

#1 luminous, Apr 3, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In WHM > Backup > Configure Backup is where you'll setup your backup. Check your settings at bottom of that page for remote FTP.

3. luminous

luminous Member