The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck at WHM 6.4.2-R5

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lyew, May 26, 2003.

  1. lyew

    lyew Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just don't get it. Over the last few days, my daily cron maintenance keeps reporting that it has found an older version of WHM: 6.4.2-R5 and then it goes on to update it with Stable 6. It tells me it's successful, but then when I log onto WHM, I keep getting the older version.

    Is anyone experiencing this? Is there a solution to this?

    Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 lyew, May 26, 2003
    Last edited: May 26, 2003
  2. aegenterprises

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem. Any servers set to update to release versions are fine and update normally. Any set to the "stable tree" do not update from 6.4.2-R5

    The release version was installed when the formmail security holes were patched.. even though the servers were set to stable tree "upcp" still installed the R5 version...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Alarion

    Alarion Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here.

    Admins? what gives?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. TioChaharbaghi

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ium having the same problem

    what gives?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ;( I cannot update to new stable version from 6.4.0-S16

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. lyew

    lyew Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I found this in the FAQ.

    Cpanel won't update, I can run /scripts/upcp , but the version stays the same eventhough it's old ?

    SOlution:


    You might have /tmp mounted nosuid and noexec.
    The upgrade process stores its upgrade file in /tmp/ ,
    and runs it from there.
    You have to have /tmp mounted without noexec .

    Edit /etc/fstab and reboot to do this.

    I'll give this a try.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. lyew

    lyew Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nope. That didn' t work for me. My /tmp folder isn't any specific mount. Couldn't even find any mention of that in my fstab file.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. 0utlier

    0utlier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has there been any acknowledgement of this issue from the Cpanel folks? Day after day upcp tries to upgrade Cpanel to the latest stable (Cpanel-6.4.2-STABLE) and day after day WHM still says Cpanel 6.4.2-R5. Any thoughts on this subject?


    ==> Checking to see if you have the latest version.....Compare: Cpanel-6.4.2-STABLE_6-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1 != Cpanel-6.4.2-RELEASE_5-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-21/20.2mdk
    Nope! You have 6.4.2-RELEASE_5
    ==> Fetching the main installation program; please be patient...done.
    ==> Cleaning up temporary files...done.
    ==> Running installer...
    ==> Verifying archive integrity...OK
    ==> Uncompressing Cpanel-6.4.2-STABLE_6...........................................
    ==> Installing.......-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-\|/-
    ==> Running post install scripts....rsync

    ETC, ETC, ETC...

    WHM still indicates Cpanel 6.4.2-R5

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh yes, my /tmp is noexec. I don't like the idea to edit fstab and remount partitions each time i need Cpanel update

    :mad: :mad:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. DrChaos

    DrChaos Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same issue here... I want to update and see if it solves the problem I am having on several domains with awstats not working...shows last update on May 22 for several domains.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. dhabets

    dhabets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    same here.... switched to release versions and then it does go to R24.... but I prefer stable... what gives??!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. lyew

    lyew Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Interestingly I did the same thing. I switched my server to update release versions only. So my WHM was updated to 6.4.2-R24. When I re-set the update to the stable version, I get 6.4.2-R5 back even though I'm told that stable 6 has been installed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Im getting the same here - cpanel just arnt responding to the ticket.

    You all on redhat8???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. HostMaster

    HostMaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same problem!

    ==> Checking to see if you have the latest version.....Compare: Cpanel-6.4.2-STABLE_6-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1 != Cpanel-6.4.2-RELEASE_5-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-21/20.2mdk
    Nope! You have 6.4.2-RELEASE_5

    But when i reload whm it says i still have version 5!!!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Snap same message here!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Just updating thread with ticket number - i suggest you all do the same :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 14471
     
  17. HostMaster

    HostMaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There's no point in using the helpdesk ticket system 50% of the time they dont even respond.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have three servers doing the same thing. All are RH 7.3 boxes.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 14713
     
  19. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Puts my thory to shame thought it was an RH8 issue - would be great if cpanel could at least give us an update on this issue.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    cpanel doesnt use /tmp anymore, they havnt for a while now... if you watch it should store the file in /usr/local/cpanel/cptmp

    i'm seeing the same issue though. The version is stuck on R5.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page