The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck in Change Hostname

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by antispam, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    in a new server (installed CPanel yesterday) I tried about 8 hours ago to "Change Hostname".

    It seemed to finish ok, then it asked for "Add an A Entry for Your Hostname", which I did as prompted, also ok.

    However, when I click on the "Change Hostname" a warning appears: "Your previous attempt to change the hostname is still running. Please wait until it completes".

    When using "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/set_hostname abc.def.com" I get
    "Changing hostname to abc.def.com...Failed!
    Cannot set the hostname; there is already hostname change in progress.

    The /scripts/check_valid_server_hostname diplays ok.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Forgot to say that ~4 hours after the "Change Hostname" I tried to fix it by restarting the server.
    Still, I have the exact same situation.

    And it might be needed to change the name again in the near future.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is the domain name you're using valid and pointing to the server from your Registrar properly?
     
  4. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, DNS is perfectly valid. In fact the server responds to both the old and new host names.

    However, the certificate given out during IMAP/POP3/SMTP/FTP connections reflects the old host name.
     
  5. NOC_Serverpoint

    NOC_Serverpoint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What is the Kernel Version ? Is it outdated ?
     
  6. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi again, it's CentOS 7.2 kernel-3.10.0-327.22.2.el7.x86_64, WHM 58.0 (build 28), System and Server software is up to date (the System was only installed yesterday and "System Update" only updated 5 packages).
     
  7. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, for the record, I opened a CPanel Ticket and Jon proposed
    to just delete the touch file:
    /var/cpanel/.application-locks/UpdateHostname.

    In fact hundreds of 1-byte files
    (the above mentioned plus one for each domain name on this IP)
    are left there.

    Indeed, after I delete them I am able to change Host Name,
    but now every time I try to change the name,
    the same thing happens, the files remain there and block further attempts
    (until I delete them again).

    Obviously, I 'm a little afraid that the process did not finish ok.
    The logs however don't report any error, as far as I can tell,
    and everything seems to work.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you reopen the ticket, or open a new one, so we can determine why the lock files are left in-place after updating the hostname? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome. There's an internal case, CPANEL-6156, regarding this issue, but additional information about why the lock files remain on the system will help us to address the issue.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page