Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Stuck in Change Hostname

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by antispam, Sep 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    in a new server (installed CPanel yesterday) I tried about 8 hours ago to "Change Hostname".

    It seemed to finish ok, then it asked for "Add an A Entry for Your Hostname", which I did as prompted, also ok.

    However, when I click on the "Change Hostname" a warning appears: "Your previous attempt to change the hostname is still running. Please wait until it completes".

    When using "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/set_hostname abc.def.com" I get
    "Changing hostname to abc.def.com...Failed!
    Cannot set the hostname; there is already hostname change in progress.

    The /scripts/check_valid_server_hostname diplays ok.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Forgot to say that ~4 hours after the "Change Hostname" I tried to fix it by restarting the server.
    Still, I have the exact same situation.

    And it might be needed to change the name again in the near future.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,235
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is the domain name you're using valid and pointing to the server from your Registrar properly?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, DNS is perfectly valid. In fact the server responds to both the old and new host names.

    However, the certificate given out during IMAP/POP3/SMTP/FTP connections reflects the old host name.
     
  5. NOC_Serverpoint

    NOC_Serverpoint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What is the Kernel Version ? Is it outdated ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi again, it's CentOS 7.2 kernel-3.10.0-327.22.2.el7.x86_64, WHM 58.0 (build 28), System and Server software is up to date (the System was only installed yesterday and "System Update" only updated 5 packages).
     
  7. antispam

    antispam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, for the record, I opened a CPanel Ticket and Jon proposed
    to just delete the touch file:
    /var/cpanel/.application-locks/UpdateHostname.

    In fact hundreds of 1-byte files
    (the above mentioned plus one for each domain name on this IP)
    are left there.

    Indeed, after I delete them I am able to change Host Name,
    but now every time I try to change the name,
    the same thing happens, the files remain there and block further attempts
    (until I delete them again).

    Obviously, I 'm a little afraid that the process did not finish ok.
    The logs however don't report any error, as far as I can tell,
    and everything seems to work.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,885
    Likes Received:
    1,814
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you reopen the ticket, or open a new one, so we can determine why the lock files are left in-place after updating the hostname? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome. There's an internal case, CPANEL-6156, regarding this issue, but additional information about why the lock files remain on the system will help us to address the issue.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice