The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sub.Domain redirect to FTP URL?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Justin182004, Sep 18, 2003.

  1. Justin182004

    Justin182004 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I have a client that wants to create a sub-domain name (server.domain.com) and redirect it to (ftp://26.112.12.111) or something similar.

    Can this be done? ... also this ftp server is not associated with their cPanel, its their own ftp server they setup.

    Thanks in advance,
    Justin.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: "N/A"
     
  2. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Bestway : Create the sub domain as you would. Now create an index page inside the root of this sub domain as follows:

    Code:
    <html>
    
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=ftp://ftp.DOMAIN.com">
    <title>Loading FTP Site</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    </body>
    </html>
    
    Replace the ftp link to your clients ftp site and you are in business.

    This may not be the perfect solution, but this is what i feel will work best for you. Incase the client needs to make any change to the ftp address, all he needs to do is make changes to the htm file.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I missed something here. There is another way which probably everyone will prefer more.

    Open your cpanel for the domain name, choose Account Settings, Sub Domains

    Here you can setup a subdomain and have it redirected to an ftp address as well.

    I haven't tested the above, but since this is provided from within cpanel, it should work.

    P.S. The above directions are for the default cpanel skin, your skin mite have a diff. heading/ name for this option. Look around.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page