The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain as cPanel New Account

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by allhost, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. allhost

    allhost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello All,

    I am unable to get this to work.

    1- I created a new cPanel account using a subdomain, something like subdomain.alpha.com
    2- Since I am not using the DNS in my server, and using GoDaddy shared DNS, I added that subdomain as an A record pointing to a dedicated IP address. The IP address is assigned to this subdomain using WHM.
    3- Now, I can not get this subdomain.alpha.com to work. At first, it shows that standard cPanel page of (something new is coming here..) or something similar.

    4- Of course, the site should work once I install wordpress in that subdomain.alpha.com or even adding a simple index.html, however, this fails to work. In fact, the page never loads again, and it shows the error of (cannot connect to a server).

    5- It's so strange is that once I delete that index page or wordpress, the standard earlier cPanel page shows again.

    What am I missing?

    Thanks
     
  2. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you able to ping the sub-domain from the assigned IP address, If you were able to ping the IP address then you need to check with your files you are hosting.
     
  3. allhost

    allhost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Saravanandrpl.

    Yes, I can ping it, this is why this is so strange. There is no magic in the files. If I place a simple index.html, nothing shows. I will keep looking for a solution.
     
  4. allhost

    allhost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just a quick question; An (A) record for the subdomain, that points to the IP address is all what is needed; is not this right? I don't need to have another www.subdomain? as www is not needed?
     
  5. allhost

    allhost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For Whatever reason, adding this subdomain makes my NGINX (which is used as a reverse proxy to Apache) to fail. Now, NGINX is not starting, it is always down, and I get this error message:
    [warn] 23257#0: conflicting server name

    Because of this, all my sites are down. :(
    Anyone knows how to fix this?

    Thanks
     
  6. allhost

    allhost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Though I do not know why this happens, however, Here is what I did to fix the NGINX issue so that anyone could benefit from.

    The summary of the issue is as follows:
    I have NGINX as reverse proxy to Apache. I have also the main domain (www.domain.com) runs as the primary cPanel account.
    Once, I created another cPanel as (subdomain.domain.com), NGINX failed, all sites failed, and I could not make it for the subdomain.domain.com to find its index page. While I was looking to solve this index problem, I never realized that NGINX is down, which makes the whole sites down.

    NGINX log shows this error: [warn] 23257#0: conflicting server name

    I could not find a rational reason for why this happens.

    I tried to check the vhosts, with no luck. I opened NGINX Config file, (using NGINX Admin plugin in cPanel), and just save it, restart NGINX, and things worked again.

    Why and for what reason this whole thing happened, I have no clue. If someone does, please shed some light.

    Thanks again for this wonderful forum.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I am happy to see the issue is resolved. I suggest consulting with the support for the Nginx plugin you are using to report this issue, as Nginx is not supported or provided by cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
  8. allhost

    allhost Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for the advice :). I will.
     
Loading...

Share This Page