The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomain blank page ONLY when https

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by varrinka, Aug 24, 2013.

  1. varrinka

    varrinka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all, maybe it's just been a long day but this one really has me confused: I created subdomains for a new account using the Cpanel tools (everything seems fine) and then installed a multi domain SSL cert (including all subdomains listed individually, not a wildcard cert). All subdomains are functioning properly except when I try to access them with https. When I go to https://subdomain.example.com, nothing shows (blank page with 200 ok response header).

    Since the subdomains work properly without ssl, I am assuming the problem is with the cert, but I double-checked with the cert company and everything looks good as far as they can tell. I also ruled out a DNS propagation delay because the unsecure http version of the subdomain works as expected.

    The subdomain blank pages are not showing any sign of ssl issues (like https://subdomain.example.com shows the padlock/green text in the address bar). But I can only get a blank page.

    Additionally, all but one subdomain are outside of the public_html web root (they all server static content except one "test" subdomain for the developers), and the one subdomain that is set up within public_html definitely is inheriting the .htaccess directives from the parent public_html folder. The others are outside of public_html and share the same ssl problem (blank page only when https) but they have no .htaccess (and I have tested without any .htaccess on the "test" subdomain as well-- same issue). So, I ruled out .htaccess issues.

    Any ideas?:confused:
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Assuming that you installed the the SSL on the main domain
    you need a Dedicated IP for each SSL install

    you can either modify the virtual host containers for each subdomain or add them as its own separate cpanel user account (with its own dedicated IP)
     
  3. varrinka

    varrinka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry I did not mention it right off but this site is on its own dedicated IP address, not the shared main IP of the server.

    The ssl cert only covers this domain and its subdomains and was installed via WHM.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    as stated each subdomain needs it own dedicated IP address
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not true.
    Even without SNI you can use a wildcard or a multidomain certificate for several subdomains.
    Read here:
    Install an SSL Certificate on a Domain
     
  6. varrinka

    varrinka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, my cert for this domain lists the subdomains as SANs and should work on a single dedicated IP. Clearly, I've missed something important in setting this up though.

    quietFinn, thanks for the link. I have looked at that documentation, particularly the page with troubleshooting tips for ssl issues, but unfortunately none of the tips applied to my situation.

    The main thing to note is that the ssl cert is working for the subdomain (the browser bar shows the correct cert info when I visit the subdomain, the padlock icon displays, and the https text turns green). However the content of the subdomain root directory will not show (and no error is given, it is 200 ok response). So I have no errors to look up... not sure how to troubleshoot...

    But I do know it is something wrong with my server configuration. Perhaps I need to edit something in httpd.conf? Maybe the subdomain root folder is not set correctly for ssl?

    I expected cpanel to handle that for me when I installed the cert, and I'm hesitant to muck around with config files because any trial and error here is on a live server with dozens of other sites. I am planning to take a look during our off-peak hours tonight, but am not really sure what I'm looking for yet.

    Thanks for any ideas/help. It's just hard for me to troubleshoot something with no obvious error messages (I am not a full-time sysadmin or reseller, just a small business using cpanel to host our own sites).
     
  7. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tested with another browser, and/or from another computer, and/or using another connection?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you installed the SSL certificate for each subdomain individually? Also, have you tried uploading a test HTML file and accessing it? For example, upload cptest.html and attempt to browse to that location from the subdomain?

    Thank you.
     
  9. varrinka

    varrinka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    quietFinn, I have tested from multiple browsers with cleared cache but not from multiple computers/connections.

    cPanelMichael, I only installed the SSL certificate in WHM which applied it to the top level domain that is set up as an account (with the subdomains created via cpanel). Do I need to install the cert some other way? Maybe through Cpanel instead of WHM? Maybe installing via WHM is part of the problem (though I had created the subdomains in Cpanel before I installed the multi domain SSL cert in WHM, so I would hope WHM would take care or any extra steps when there are subdomains involved).

    And yes, I have a basic html test page in the subdomain root directory. The test page works fine on an unsecured connection, but when I access it via https, I get a blank page (empty html source, not just my test page with missing elements or broken images... it's a totally blank page with a 200 ok response header). If it was a page not found error or something it would make more sense to me but I can't figure out why it knows which page to serve without the https, but fails when the secure connection is requested. :confused:

    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please try installing the same certificate for an individual subdomain in the account (you can complete the installation via WHM or cPanel), clear your browser cache, and let us know if the behavior changes for that specific subdomain.

    Thank you.
     
  11. varrinka

    varrinka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelMichael, that worked, I did not realize I needed to install the same SSL cert for each subdomain since www version worked automatically but now see that www was the ONLY subdomain to work automatically with the first install of my multi domain cert on the primary domain.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page