The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain Creation problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by romanus, Dec 16, 2005.

  1. romanus

    romanus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I create a subdomain fine in cpanel. a directory is automatically created in the domain. But after an appropriate period of time for propagation, when i type the subdomain in, I am automatically redirected to the www.domain.com isntead of the subdomain.domain.com that I typed. No redirections are set.

    The wierd thing is that I have one domain that I have now problem creating a subdomain on, the rest just won't deposit the user into the subdomain, they keep getting routed back out to the main domain

    Thanks for any help
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Check your httpd.conf file to see if it has the right path to the subdomain. I've had it leave out the subdomain folder a few times before.

    If it needs to be changed, make a backup copy first, just in case it gets messed up, then after changing it, restart apache.
     
  3. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    httpd.conf Edit Tip

    At the shell prompt use this command:

    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl configtest

    This should return
    Syntax OK

    if your edits are correct.

    It will return an error message with a line number if your edit was incorrect.

    Use this after editing and saving your httpd.conf file but before restarting the server to check the syntax is correct and will allow Apache to restart.

    No worries of Apache not starting and returning an error because you did a typo. ;)
    :)
     
    #3 Izzee, Dec 17, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page