The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomain creation ? www plus subdomain :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by prixone, Mar 17, 2007.

  1. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you create a subdomain it will create a www with it so for example...

    subdomain bla
    it will create www.bla.yourdomain.com and bla.yourdomain.com...

    what i wanted to do is:
    create the subdomain bla with HTTPS and without the www.bla is it possible ? how should i procced ?

    thanks in advanced.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    remove the www from your zone files
     
  3. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    what about the SSL ? it would be still possible to install ?

    how could i define a dedicated ip to a subdomain to still work over apache havent done this before...
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    just add it as you would any other ssl on a main domain

    make sure you have a dedicated IP and the main domain of the subdomain is not using SSL
     
  5. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    that is really odd i can't get ride of the www

    tried removing from apache, dns zones but it still giving me access... :(

    and i have restarted both services...

    the SSL works fine and the subdomain is fine too... thanks for the help...
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    propagation it will go away in time
     
  7. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    indeed thanks again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page