The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain DocumentRoot ALL WRONG !!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mysql_connect, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. mysql_connect

    mysql_connect Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, here's my story:

    Running WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R18404, auto-update on "RELEASE" and Apache 1.3.39. Today I tried to add a subdomain besides my aprox. 50 already added and working for the past 2 years, to my unpleasant surprise it didn't work, tracking down the problem I found this in httpd.conf in the VirtualHost area of the subdomain:


    DocumentRoot /home/user


    instead of

    DocumentRoot /home/user/public_html/subdomain

    like it is correct and working.

    Please help!
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Which theme are you using?
     
  3. mysql_connect

    mysql_connect Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    X theme, default.
     
  4. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have the same problem here.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to use the X3 theme. X and X2 are only provided for legacy purposes.
     
  6. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why are these old themes still available?

    No-one wants a theme that does not work.

    So either support them, or remove them.
     
  7. mysql_connect

    mysql_connect Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So now I should go and manually change themes to hundreds of accounts, why are those even DEFAULT? Is there a way to change multiple accounts themes at a time?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The development team notes that there are some minor issues that still remain in the X3 theme which prevent it from being set as the default theme.

    As for changing the theme on multiple accounts simultaneously, just modify multiple accounts under "Multi-Account Functions" and for theme, select X3. To select all the accounts you see, simply click the search button in the box on the right side of the screen.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Some web hosting providers prefer to first upgrade to cPanel 11 and handle those issues first, and deal with the support issues that arise from changing a theme separately. Hence the old themes from version 10 are available in version 11. They will likely not be available in version 12.

    The themes are being fixed at this time as major issues arise (such as the issue you mention). Minor issues are no longer being resolved on the X and X2 themes as most of these were resolved in X3.
     
  10. mysql_connect

    mysql_connect Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If I add a new field to the X theme called "dir" for the docroot as the X3 theme has, will it work?
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Off hand, I don't know. I rely on the WHM editors so I don't need to worry about any changes in the underlying implementation of the language system.
     
  12. mysql_connect

    mysql_connect Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If anyone interested, it doesn't work :) you have to switch to X3 theme.
     
Loading...

Share This Page