The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain errors with www

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cjbyron, Jul 17, 2003.

  1. cjbyron

    cjbyron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I create a subdomain it works only without the www in front of it. I have some subdomains that will work with www in front.

    The file manager shows that when I create a subdomain it also creates a duplicate folder for the new SD in folder "www".

    What am I missing? I have several customers wanting (should I say demanding? LOL) the www prefix to work with thier subdomain url.

    Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    My guess is it can only be one of two things:
    1) DNS: Check that the subdomain's DNS zone includes an entry for www
    2) Apache: Check that your httpd.conf includes www.subdomain.com as ServerAlias where the subdomain is defined.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. cjbyron

    cjbyron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your response.

    Unfortunately I don't have access to the httpd.conf file. I am a reseller.

    I have been used to Plesk and never had this problem with PSA so C-Panel is a bit different in several areas.

    Thanks for suggestion though!

    Cj

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. MySundown

    MySundown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's normal. The "www" directory is just a symbolic link to the "public_html" directory, so only one folder was created.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cpanel does not support www sub domains to make one work you have to edit the httpd.file for that sub domain and add a A entry to the DNS zone for it.

    Or as a reseller just create a top level domain entry as sub.domain.com then you can address it as www.sub.domain.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. nexthost

    nexthost Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Princeton NJ | London England
    let's get cpanel to integrate these few steps directly into cpanel :) seems like an easy mod ;)

    so that when you create a subdomain in CPanel.. it also includes the www prefix :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page