The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomain from another nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by jgmilleriii, Aug 2, 2005.

  1. jgmilleriii

    jgmilleriii Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We've been asked to host a website that will be a subdomain of someone else's domain -- that is to say "web.theirdomain.com".

    How do I add the account in WHM and avoid nameserver problems. I've added the account, erased the dns entry and now can't send mail to the client. Our mailserver doesn't really know where the domain is!

    I don't want to, nor will I have, DNS SOA on this account. I just want to setup an account for the client, and move on.


    Any ideas on how to add this account through WHM?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    on the server that is controlling the DNS you will have to have them create a DNS record for it if you do not have access the it there will be no way to display it on your server properly
     
    #2 dalem, Aug 2, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2005
  3. jgmilleriii

    jgmilleriii Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, they are posting the necessary "A" record on their DNS server.

    What do we do in WHM? Do we just delete the dns records that cPanel creates?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes, since you're not authoratitive for the zone you should remove it on your server. You will likely to have to wait if they have only just added the A record for the subdomain to point to your server for their zone to propagate. If they want to use email on the subdomain they will also need to create an MX record for the subdomain in the main domains zone file.
     
  5. ghv

    ghv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Chirpy,

    This thread reminded me of a subdomain I created some time ago with the same scenerio.
    In this case I did not remove zone records and all has always worked fine (that I know of) with one exception:

    http://www.domain.com/whatever/

    resolves fine but

    http://www.domain.com/whatever

    does not resolve.


    Would removing the zone records cure this?
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I don't believe it would, no. Though I have seen that issue, I'm afraid that I don't recall the fix for it. Checking in /etc/httpd/logs/error_log might indicate where the problem is.
     
  7. ghv

    ghv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    I tried all the obvious (AFAIK) troubleshooting routes some time ago. This thread
    just reminded me of it so I thought I'd give it a shot.
     
Loading...

Share This Page