Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Subdomain of addon domain not working

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by trainingday, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. trainingday

    trainingday Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    united states
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi here is my setup:
    example.com is primary cpanel(I no longer own the site)

    example2.com is addon domain hosted with godaddy and A record pointed to my server(nameserver is godaddy)

    test.example2.com is subdomain i created. In whm it dns edit zone it shows pointed to ip of server(A record), but when I go to site it says dns address can not be find.

    I tried: Home »Server Configuration »Tweak Settings. Then locate the following option: “Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname” and set it to on

    Zone file shows cname pointing to example2.com

    thanks
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,
    Please make sure your website is pointing to your server IP. You have to check dns setting at intodns.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It sounds like the DNS is set correctly at your server, but not at godaddy nameservers. If your domain uses remote DNS the changes/additions for your addon/sub domains must be made at your remote DNS. I would recommend pointing the domain's nameservers directly to your WHM server, this way, WHM can manage your DNS for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. trainingday

    trainingday Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    united states
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi thanks for reply. I am not sure what remote dns is and a google search did not return anything. Are you saying since I am using godaddy nameservers that is remote dns? Will this be the only way to fix problem? Is there a tutorial for setting up nameservers to whm server?
     
  5. trainingday

    trainingday Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    united states
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks yes it says A record and www is pointing to my ip.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,480
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice